My inside day.

How could these two sweet little girls be so naughty??!!

How could these two sweet little girls be so naughty??!!

So  my girls were experiencing their “consequences” today. It was a FULL day of not going outside. I know it may seem extreme, but I really can’t think of a better way to drive home my outside rules. I have them written in marker in really large letters on a piece of colorful construction paper. They have been there since spring. I think they are really simple. Easy to follow.  Like ….wear your shoes/flip flops at all times. Always ask before taking food outside to feed the neighborhood (sharing is good, but groceries are expensive.) Ask before you take any toys/mommy’s things outside. Etc. But they continue to break the simple rules everyday, and here it is August!!

Well the floodgates were broke wide open and a river of bad kid behavior gushed over me this week….A few days ago, they broke one of my good glasses that was snuck out with a bowl of popcorn and the entire pitcher of lemonade while I wasn’t looking. The next day my youngest daughter Minate took EVERY ONE of my spoons outside so all the kids in the neighborhood could dig holes. I only recovered 5 of them….sigh.  They gave out an entire box of peanut butter crackers (it was the enormous Sam’s Club sized box!!) On and on. So I sat down and had the whole outside rules convo AGAIN. Well yesterday I walked out to check on them and on my front porch was a newly purchased cereal bowl filled with milk for a stray cat (very kind but would I ever have seen that bowl again? i think not),  and 16 cheese stick wrappers ( I just bought them that day!!)  I am sure that when I was little I drove my Mom insane doing worse things than these, but I was just SOOO frustrated. How do you get kids to be accountable for their actions? When do they get the little guy on their shoulders that says….”hmmm maybe I shouldn’t do this, Mom asked me not to?”

So as my oldest child broke down and cried today, “everyone is outside WHHHyyyyy can’t I go out,” I gently reminded her that she was feeling the consequences of not respecting the family rules, and that I hope next time she is deciding to take out half a bag of groceries and the entire contents of my kitchen cupboards and drawers that she remembers how she feels RIGHT NOW. Think it will work?  One can only hope.

So since we were going to be in all day, I got down to business. I finished all my bindings HOT DOG!!! And I started to work on these little pincushions that have been in the miles high to do pile.

 

Here are the three I got done. I still need to do the little saltbox house.

 

Three down, one to go!

Three down, one to go!

And I got the face and stem on my little pumpkin fella. I can just picture him on the front porch with our pumpkins, mums, and cornstalks.
Almost done!

Almost done!

FABULOUS NOTIONABLES

I thought it might be fun to share little notions and things that I love that make my quilting life easier.  The first entry, and probably the VERY MOST FAVORITE AND ESSENTIAL  thingy is my scissor zinger.  I could never ever sew without them. My mom and aunts all have them and bought me one when I very first started sewing.  Once in a great while I will forget that I haven’t clipped them on myself and I will grasp wildly at my chest….”oh NOOO my scissors!!!” I promise if you don’t already have one, you need one!

My best pal the scissor zinger. Opps there is a leather sticky thimble stuck on there from doing applique, ignore that.

My best pal the scissor zinger. Opps there is a leather sticky thimble stuck on there from doing applique, ignore that.

Later Gators, Melissa
One comment on “My inside day.

  1. Sara says:

    So glad you got your bindings sewn on! Now if only I could get mine done! I also love those pincushions. I am starting to find myself being drawn to them, almost like I have to have them! I don’t know why either!

    And children, aren’t they wonderful! My sons do the same things, but the are pretty good now about not taking stuff outside. Plus we live in the middle of nowhere so there are only 3 other people to “share” with (all girls mind you!)

    I can also forgive you for being a Michigan fan, just don’t expect me to root for them come OSU/Michigan game! LOL!

Comments are closed.