Sig Block Swap

Block Swap Button

Due to a wonderful turn out…Sign up’s are closed! Thank you!

We have some people interested in doing the signature block swap. But we will need more!  If those of you who are interested would post about it on your blogs I am sure we could  have a beautiful quilt to commemorate quilters from around the blogosphere!  Sooo …. I made a little button for you to copy and share.If anyone knows of someone who would want to participate, but does not have a blog, just have them email me or shoot me a comment.

Background Info:

I am going to use  the  pattern Kindred Spirit  from Jo Morton’s book Vintage Journey book to set my blocks.  If you would like to make her quilt then you can purchase her book at your local quilt shop.

Kindred Spirit from Jo Morton's book Vintage Journey

Kindred Spirit from Jo Morton's book Vintage Journey

 I wanted to make sure that the signature block used in her setting wasn’t copyrighted so I checked around and found that the particular quilt block we will be swapping is posted on quite a few “free quilt block” sites.
The setting I would use is from her book  and is obviously her property so if you want to set them her way you would buy her book to do so.
Block Directions:
1. You may choose any light colored fabric of your choice for backgrounds. Cut your backgrounds into 3 1/2″ squares.
2. You may use any civil war reproduction fabric for your corners.  Cut 2 squares at 2 1/2″ .  Draw a diagonal line through the center and pin in place in the upper left and lower right hand corners. Sew on the diagonal line.
3. Trim off corners at 1/4″ and press open.
4. Sign your name and city/state  diagonally in the center of the block with a permanent fabric marker.
Untitled
Rules so far:
1.  Closing date to sign up will be August 31, 2009
2. Sign up open to all U.S. residents only (i think shipping would be too high overseas right?)
3. All blocks will be sent to me with a self-addressed stamped envelope to have the swap blocks sent back to you.
4. All blocks will be mailed to me by November 31, 2009
5. Amount of blocks you will make is dependent on how many participants we get signed up.
 If we get many then we’ll make smaller groups.  If we get a few then we will just swap with whomever we get!
How to Join the Team
(if you already left me a comment from the other day you are good to go!)
Comment me here if you want to play!
Hope you join us!

Due to a wonderful turn out…Sign up’s are closed! Thank you!

This entry was posted in Quilts.

59 comments on “Sig Block Swap

  1. Brenda says:

    You know how I “like” piecing…man! Fine! Sign me up; I’m such a swap sucker, LOL!~ If this one doesn’t hine my pieicing skills nothing will, LOL!

  2. jaybird says:

    i’m in!
    and i’ll post about it soon on my blog. :-)

  3. MeLinda Harris says:

    Count me in! I would love to play.

  4. Kaaren says:

    Can Canadians play? We’re right next door. (wink)

  5. Michelle Kupreisis says:

    I’d like to join the swap. I haven’t done this in a while. It’s fun to see what fabric everyone has choosen.

  6. Melody - The Demanding Doll says:

    I’ll play.

  7. Carrie P. says:

    I noticed the swap button on Mel’s blog and I would love to participate. Please add me to the list. I will put something on my blog tomorrow.

  8. Dawn says:

    I would like to join your sig swap!

  9. Molly says:

    Hi there, I’d like to join the swap!

  10. I have never joined a swap before and this sounds fun! I have Jo’s Vintage Journey book! I would like to join!!

  11. Melissa, I would love to be a part of this swap. I love swaps and especially love meeting new bloggers and making even more new blogging friends. I found your swap by way of Pumpkin Patch Primitives. We have been visiting back and forth for some time now.

  12. Barbara says:

    I would love to participate in the Sig Block Swap.

  13. Sherry says:

    Hi I would like to see if I can join but I have a few questions. IF you could let me know your email address thanks.

  14. Jane says:

    I would love to join and if you say I am in, I will post the button on my blog! Thanks!!

  15. terri says:

    i would love to participate if you have the room! let me know and i will post the button on my sidebar! thank you!

  16. AuntPittyPat says:

    Jane talked me into I would love to play along. :) Thanks for holding such a fun swap. I was just in a Siggy block swap and had a lot of fun making them :)
    It is so much fun to see all the blocks and where they come from ;)
    M

  17. Lisa says:

    I would love to join in too. Sign me up please!

  18. Karen says:

    This sounds like so much fun. I would love to join…I just love civil war fabrics.
    Thanks for organizing this,
    ~Karen~

  19. Laurie Nicholls says:

    I would love to be in your swap. Especially since I really like CW fabric! Please let me know the particulars. I really like your blog.

  20. Lindsey says:

    Hi, Carrie P. sent me over…I’d like to join the fun.
    Thanks,
    Lindsey

  21. Laura Patridge says:

    I would love to participate – I am not a blogger, but I am a believer in block swaps. I’m ready to begin whenever you say “GO!”

    Thanks,
    Laura

  22. I saw your swap on Aunt Pitty Pat’s blog and would love to join too! Please sign me up. I will add your button to my blog now =)

    Thanks for hosting!
    Lanette

  23. Danielle says:

    I would love to join in on the fun, I found your blog from Carrie. Please count me in, and thank you for organizing such a cool swap! Danielle

  24. Melissa,
    I heard about your swap at Kaarens blog. I would love to join, I just love Jo Mortons fabrics & patterns.
    Thank you,
    Rebecca P

  25. Anett says:

    I would love to do this….it will be my first signature swap. I will post this on my blog.

    Anett
    pincushioncrazy@blogspot.com

  26. Charlene says:

    Oh my gosh! I found you on Kaarens blog and came right over! I love the pattern and the fabric choice! Please count me in!!!

  27. Jandi says:

    Sounds like fun! I can’t wait!

  28. Lissa says:

    I was just telling everyone at work that I wanted to do a swap. Sign me up.

  29. Please count me in, I haven’t made one of these in years.
    Carole Ann
    Phila., PA

  30. lori says:

    Hi I saw your swap over on Pumpkin Patch Primitives thanks Brenda.. anyhow I was wondering how many blocks are we going to be making?
    just wondering…
    Oh and please sign me up I would like to do it.
    Thanks
    Lori
    aka lej619
    quiltingbug619@yahoo.com

  31. lori says:

    oh man do I feel stupid I just reread the instructions and no need to answer my question. you did already.
    thanks.
    lori
    hope i get to join

  32. Katie says:

    Oh please count me in! This sounds like so much fun and I admire all you ladies so much – it would be lovely to have a quilt made by everyone!

  33. Margaret Yancich says:

    This is great , I have always wanted to do a swap and I’ve always wanted a signature quilt. This is a win win foe me. Thank you so much for starting this swap! I’m definitely in!!!!

  34. Carol says:

    Please sign me up for the swap! I have tons of Civil War fabrics so I am looking forward to this swap.

  35. Lyda Loehring says:

    Yes I want to join in on the fun…..so sign me up. I’d love to get signatures from all over…..Great idea.

  36. Bonnie P says:

    I would love to join the signature block swap. Just purchased some beautiful reproduction fabrics yesterday that will be perfect for this! Thanks for the opportunity!!

  37. Bonnie P says:

    BTW, I’d be willing to make and swap the number of blocks required to make Kindred Spirit. The quilt is wonderful and I’d love to make the quilt for myself. Thanks!

  38. Kristine says:

    I would love to join your swap. I’m so excited because I have tons of CW fabric and a yard of the Marcus tea stained muslin, ready to go…along with Jo’s book!

  39. Pam Kieffer says:

    I would like to join your swap but the pattern description is not the same as the picture. Which is correct. Pam

  40. Pam Kieffer says:

    It is always helpful if one checks the main tutorial. I saw four blocks and thought that was the siggy block. Now that I understand this will be a peice of cake. What excitement I caused at our quild meeting when I shared the last siggy blocks I did. Pam
    .

  41. Meghann Stephens says:

    I think this sounds like lots of fun and can’t wait to get started. Please sign me up for this swap:) I do not have a blog but do have some quilting friends that I plan to share this with and hopefully they will join in on the fun:)

  42. Babs says:

    I would like to join the signature block swap. How many people have joined!

    Babs from GA

  43. Melinda says:

    I’m friends with Meghann and a swap does sound fun. Count me in also. I don’t have a blog either but I will spread the word to other quilters.

  44. Lurline says:

    Hi Melissa, As you can see I am Lurline from Australia and I’m the Lucky Girl, because Jane has offered to sponsor me in your Swap! We have become very good Blogland friends and she is such a Sweetie to me! I have ordered the book, so am really looking forward to joining in – I’m so looking forward to making new friendships and checking progress!
    Hugs – Lurline♥

  45. Julia says:

    Hi Melissa
    I’m in Australia,I would love to join you in this swap…It’s a beautiful quilt.
    I love repro fabrics and have heaps of fabric for the blocks
    Dear friend Jane of Jane’s fabrics has offered to sponser me for the swap.
    Julia ♥

  46. Michelle says:

    Hi Melissa –
    Please count me in!!! I’m very new to quilting, but know I can do this. Thanks for organizing this fun swap. Michelle

  47. Karen says:

    I would like to participate.

  48. Mary says:

    This sounds like fun. Please count me in too.

  49. Lynda Green says:

    This will be the first — would love to join the swap… Thanks for the opportunity.

  50. Melody says:

    This sounds like fun! Count Me in. I found you through quilthollow.blogspot.com

  51. Judith Stoll says:

    I would like to join the swap….is it too late????

  52. Elaine Morgan says:

    Hi Melissa!

    This is the third try to comment! I’m not sure if I’m having a problem or what! It isn’t showing up on your list! So, if there are THREE Elaine Morgan’s wanting to join your swap – it’s me and I only want to join once! Thanks!

  53. Julie says:

    What a wonderful idea… are you still accepting people to participate?

  54. Diane Cannon says:

    I have not done a block swap before–but it sounds great and I do know of the ones that are doing this one and they are on my blog lists–so it does sound like fun and I am working on a nice stash of civil war prints, so I am ready to go—- See ya, Hugs, Just, Di

  55. AuntPittyPat says:

    I see the swap is now closed.. Can you please advise how many blocks are needed. I have to order the fabric… as my local shop doesn’t carry this type of fabric. Thanks
    M

  56. Mary Burns says:

    Can I still join, please,please, please Hugs, Mary

  57. Martha James says:

    FYI There is also a block swap going on at Homestead Hearth.

  58. Scott Drain says:

    It’s a shame I’m late for this, hope you do it again in the future?

Comments are closed.