Primitive Halloween Book

birds-on-branch-header

Wow today is my blogoversary! I had no idea, and would have totally missed posting today if Brenda hadn’t have gotten me off my patootie to post!  So one year  and 188 posts later I can definitely say blogging has enhanced my life! Not only has it brought me new friends, tons of great ideas from others, but it has left a life log for my children to someday look back through and glimpse at  what their dear old mom had been up to “way back when.”

Thanks to  all the folks who stop by to look in on my little life and leave comments that brighten my day!

Since I am feeling super Autumnal I decided to make and share a little fall-ish project.

Here is a Grungy Fabric Covered Halloween Book Tutorial:

Tut 1

1. Grab an old hardcover book from around your house, sale, or shop.

2. Pick out some black homespun or other suitable “halloweeny” fabric scrap.

3. Lay your book out OPEN to make sure the scrap is big enough to cover the book.

5. Now wrap the fabric around the book and close just to make sure there is enough fabric when the book is closed.

Then trim extra fabric to 1/2 inch.

Tut 4

6.  Hot glue each side to your book cover.

tut 2

7.  Fold in the corners like you would when wrapping a present and hot glue down.

Tut 5

8.  Now for the edges along the spine. With scissors cut a slit toward the spine, trim away enough fabric so that you can make a clean fold. Draw a line of hot glue and press the fold in toward spine.  Repeat on opposite end.

Tut 6

9. Now for the fun part!  Grungy up your fabric covered book.

I used some spray adhesive to lightly spray the cover and spine. Then I sprinkled cinnamon all over and shook off the excess. Then I used coffee grounds from this mornings filter and rubbed them all over to further distress the cover.  Let dry.

I used coarse sand paper to scruff up the edges and give it a worn look.

tut 8

10. The last step is to add spooky Halloween  embellishments!

You can find all kinds of Fall/Halloween graphics on the web. I  “goggled” halloween postcards and printed a couple out.

I can’t for the life of me remember which blog I saved this from, but someone offered these to re-print:

craftpic

I cut out the one that looked best on my book cover, aged it with stamping ink and decoupaged it to the cover.

stuffie 012

Then I tied some twine around the book, added an old skeleton key, and some sweet annie!

Enjoy!

tut 11

Later Gators!

Melissa

10 comments on “Primitive Halloween Book

  1. Michelle says:

    Happy Blogoversary Melissa! Thank you for the great tutorial. That looks like something that I could make with my girls. Maybe journal covers? Have a good evening!

  2. Asiyah says:

    That is super cute. I love primitives but can never get things to turn out as I intended them. I suppose that’s part of the fun, huh?

    Happy blogoversary!

  3. Happy blogaversary to you.
    I love how to book looks so old. I’m going to have to try that, thank you.

  4. Sue Cryderman says:

    Happy anniversary! I haven’t been at it a year yet, but it is fun!
    The book tutorial was great fun too. Looks easy enough!
    Well, hope your summer is going well and that you are getting things done!

  5. Lisa says:

    Happy Anniversary!

  6. Mary says:

    Beautiful! Happy Blogoversary too.

  7. How adorable! Thanks so much for sharing the tutorial. And Happy Anniversary!

  8. Carrie P. says:

    One year! Happy Anniversary! My one year is coming up in Oct.
    Great tutorial!

  9. Karen says:

    Happy Blogiversary!! I love your tutrial.

  10. Lisa says:

    Happy Blogiversary!

Comments are closed.