of banners and stolen things

Bad News:

Well I had a trying day yesterday.  Someone stole my purse right off my kitchen counter.

The back slider must have been left unlocked and someone saw an opportunity to snatch a quick dime either during the day while I was up in my sewing room, or while we were sleeping.

I NEVER leave the door unlocked, I always check.  But the one time I didn’t…

(sigh) I did all the wrong things too…like leaving my SS card in my wallet.  I have meant a million times to take it out and put it in the lock box, but never did.

You know how a woman’s purse is her castle right?  You favorite lipsticks, chapsticks, kids pictures, checkbook, drivers license, etc. I was pretty sick about it at first. But then I just reminded myself  it could have been worse.  My car keys weren’t in it. No one died.

So I spent today at the various government offices and banks etc. taking care of that.

Good News/Bright Side:

I bought a cute new purse and wallet.

Charlene of Puddles of Grace sent me a picture of her signature quilt.  She still needs to add borders, but isn’t it awesome!

Click on the link to check it out!

I have been spending some creative time making a YEAR OF BANNERS for the ole’ bloggity blog.

I have been having so much fun doing this.

Here are some I have made for the upcoming months:

If you would like to make some for your blog, here are some great free digital scrapbooking web sites:

Free Digital Scrapbooking

Shabby Princess

Here is a link to a free photo editing program that I use.  It’s my poor girl’s photoshop!

Paint.net

Okay go lock your doors and make sure your purse is put away in a closet! =)

Later Gators, melissa

12 comments on “of banners and stolen things

  1. Mary says:

    Oh man!!!! What a bummer!!!! Thankfully, no one was injured in the theft.

    Great looking banners!

  2. Brenda says:

    You know, you truly are blessed there Missy. I’m so happy to read that nothing worse happened. It’s just stuff; a pain in the a** to replace stuff, but all and all, it was just stuff so let’s count our blessings. =)
    Love the banners. I’m sending a link to my sister…new blah blog…definitely could use these, LOL! OK, but don’t even think of telling her I said that… we’re lucky she even has a blog! hahaha

  3. I am so sorry that happened to you… Cute blog headers, though!

  4. Tammy says:

    Good grief Melissa, I am so sorry to hear this happened to you. You’ve got a great attitude about it, but dog gone, isn’t anything scared anymore, to steal someones purse from their kitchen, ugh. I remember as a kid we never locked our door when we left, those innocent times are gone, sadly. Good luck getting everything canceled and such, it’s not a fun job. On an upbeat note, love the designing you’ve been doing for the banners. You’re very artistic and talented. Take care!!!

  5. Libby says:

    *sigh* Such a rotten feeling to have your wallet stolen. You’ve got a great attitude about it . . . . hopefully they were just looking for some cash and you’ll have it returned soon.
    Love the banners . . . . especially the ruler. Thanks for the links.

  6. Screen Door says:

    My favorite banner is the March one…. Sorry about the purse. Other than the cash… hope who ever took it is afraid to use your stuff. It’s just things… no hearts were broken…

  7. Michelle says:

    I love your banners! I am sorry about the inconvenience of having your purse taken. We’ve been there. They even ate some of the lemon bars that I had on the counter that day! I am glad that your family is safe!

  8. Asiyah says:

    OMG…right off your counter? The nerve of some people. I’m so glad that’s the only thing they did. And you’re right…it could be a lot worse. ((((hugs)))

    P.S. I intended to let you know how much I like your banner. My blog could definitely use a sprucing up. I’ll check out the links you shared.

  9. Jan says:

    OMG Melissa! That is just awful, but thank God no one was hurt! I shutter thinking about what could have happened w/an intruder in your home. Ohhh and many congratulations to your family on the adoption of that sweet, adorable child! That is just awesome :)

  10. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Very scary! It could have been worse when you consider you were up in your sewing room and someone was nearby who could have done harm … or … you were asleep in your beds. Awful! The missing things can be replaced … a pain, yes … but they can be replaced. Keep safe … keep that door locked! Sad statement for the times we’re living in …

  11. Claire says:

    OH, I feel for you ya…last year all the cars that were parked outside in our housing addition were broken into….usually I leave nothing in the car, but I must have forgotten to take out my tote bag, which had my digital camera in it, with pics of my grandpa holding my son….never got the picture off the camera and know it’s gone forever…..so disappointing…my hubby’s car gt hit too, they took his big binder of cd’s, which he had about 200 cd’s in it…….so now we park our cars inside the garage and make sure all doors to house are locked.

  12. Carrie P. says:

    Oh, Bummer! All the work you have to do to take care of things but hopefully the person will be caught. Oh, it is great to see someone’s signature quilt top.

Comments are closed.