Here We Go a Wassailing

I’ve always wanted to host my own Wassail party.

This is the year!  The BG and I are hosting a Wassail party on Dec 10th.

Here were our e-vites (address and phone number blocked out for protection of the innocent):

Now I am thinking about what our table fare will be and what the table centerpiece will look like.

I want to go for an all natural Colonial look.  I love all the pineapples, apples, oranges, and greenery.

Photo from Here

All other photos from Here.

 

Oooooh and isn’t this awesome? I’ve always wanted to make one of those too.  Could this be the year?

And this! Soo pretty:

Oh man I’m getting excited now…..we could rent this little house (it looks like the perfect wassail party house):

AND we could rent this guy to play Christmas music for us:

How about a few ladies dressed up to do all the cooking and hosting for us? Oh look!! They’re here to clean my house, and they’ve already made a beautiful wreath arrangement outside! (giggle)

Are you planning your Christmas festivities yet, or are you all wrapped up in Thanksgiving?

My Mom always has Thanksgiving so I just have to make a few pies for that.

Later Gators!

Melissa

 

This entry was posted in Quilts.

6 comments on “Here We Go a Wassailing

  1. Mary says:

    Wouldn’t that be a fun party???? What time shall I be there? I hope you are all dressing up in those awesome clothes.

    Those decorations are amazing!!!!

  2. Libby says:

    I’ve actually seen the apples and pineapple arch on a doorway on my street – VERY New England *s*

  3. Asiyah says:

    What a totally cool idea! I love the photos too. Have a wassail or two for me!

  4. Hi Libby! There you go again, making me want to move to New England! LOL Melissa

  5. Kathi says:

    Melissa, your party sounds fun, fun, fun. Since I can’t be there, here’s a recipe for the best wassail I’ve ever had. A friend brought it to a dinner party last month. Enjoy!

    Caramel Apple Wassail
    Buttermilk syrup:
    Melt: 1 cube of butter in a stock pot.
    Add: 1 1/2 c buttermilk (I use milk and 1 t vinegar) and 2 T Karo syrup
    Stir constantly until boiling.
    Add: 2 t baking soda
    Keep at boil until you notice a golden color coming through (about 2-4 minutes)
    Cool slightly and add 2 t vanilla
    Store in fridge for up to 1 month

    For the caramel apple wassail:
    Add 3/4 cup of buttermilk syrup to 2 quarts apple juice or cider and warm.
    Put in cups and serve with 2 T heavy or whipping cream (not whipped) and a sprinkle of cinnamon on top.

  6. boysmum2 says:

    Bit far from NZ to attend, but if you have it in that house with all the trimmings, then I may have to rob a bank to get there, looks like such fun

Comments are closed.