winter dabbling #2

Today’s little project that I am sharing is a primitive whisk broom that was born from a random trip to Michael’s craft store.

I found these in the 90% off Christmas stuff.  The thing that drew me to them was the AWESOME cinnamon smell, just like the pine cones they have out at Christmas. YUMMMM They were  cheap, 49 cents a piece, so  I took five of them thinking I would just chop them off and put them in my crocks to enjoy the nice smell.

Which I did with two of them.

I used 2 more to make a little whisk broom. Won’t you join me? (giggle)

First you need to cut them down a tad, I cut them off just below the first wicker tie with garden snips.

Don’t be like me and do this part at the kitchen table…..take yours outside and cut it so that you don’t make a big fat mess like I did.

Then I squeezed them together at the top end and wrapped floral wire very tightly around several times.  Once it was fairly secure with floral wire, I wrapped jute around and around making a loop on the back for hanging, then used a dab of hot glue to secure the end.

(  HA! look at my grody glue gun!)

Now we are going to make a primitive label for our whisk.

You can type up something or you can use the one I made here:

Cut out a piece of wax paper the size of a piece of pinter paper ( 8 1/2  x  11) and iron it to the back of some muslin, making sure the waxy side is toward the fabric.  I used some nice dyed muslin.

Then using a mat/ruler/rotary cutter , trim the muslin to the same size as the freezer paper= 8 1/2 x 11

As this is the same size as a sheet of paper it should run through your printer fine, it worked for me and this was my first time trying it. So I have no great advice for you if it doesn’t work. LOL

Print off your label.

Peal off the freezer paper and trim around your label. (You can save the freezer paper to use again!)

I cut a little slit with the scissors and ripped my fabric so that I would have nice frayed edges, but you can trim yours with a rotary cutter if you prefer.

I then did the same ripping method to cut a piece of homespun big enough to wrap around my broom with about a 1 inch overlap in the back.

Attach your label in the middle of the homespun with BIG primitive stitches.  I used a nice old looking wool floss.

Wrap it around your broom and make BIG primitive  x stitches.

Starting in the back, make a running stitch all along the top at around 1/4 inch down.  When you get back to where you started you can pull both ends tight and tie off. This gives you the tapered edge you need.

Man it smells so good!

Later gators!

melissa

 

6 comments on “winter dabbling #2

  1. Libby says:

    Again with the clever! Bonus points for using the word ‘grody’ – you just don’t see that in print very often. Still you might think of your glue gun as ‘primitive’. Something to think about *s*

  2. boysmum2 says:

    How cute, well done

  3. Linda Clear says:

    No wonder you can’t sleep, you must lie awake at night dreaming up projects! Love it tho!

  4. Kathi says:

    How creative you are! “grody” is used quite often in our house, love it.

  5. Babette says:

    That is a great idea on the brooms! And all creative crafters have “grody” glue guns. I love it when I turn mine off in a hurry and it sticks to the mat! Thanks for sharing this project.

  6. Karen says:

    I just saw your blog and LOVE IT…thanks for sharing all your wonderful ideas with us out here in blogland.
    Karen

Comments are closed.