Everything that has been happening since the last time we met…

I started to realize that I am going to have to make a MAMMOTH post at the end of the summer if I don’t make a mid-summer post soon!  Someday I plan to have this journal printed out and I don’t want to think nothing happened to me in the summer of ’11 (hehehehehe.)

My college roommates and friends all went to the WORLD Expo of Beer in Frankenmuth Michigan again this year.  Many delicious mugs of spirits were consumed! I wore a white dress and didn’t spill anything on it the whole night! WOW, I must not have sampled enough beer.

I went on my oldest daughter’s field trip to Henry Ford museum:

Then June 17th the girls got out of school. That seemed super late to be getting out of school (at least it seemed that way to me!)

Here are their first and last day of school shots:

awww growing like little weeds huh?

We took an amazing 5 day camping trip WAAAY up north where the girls caught their first fish, we celebrated The BG’s 39th birthday,  and the Shasta had her maiden voyage.

Then off to Mom and Dad’s house for the 4th of July festivities.  This year the party was at my Aunt Donna’s house:

Then we were off to the lake at my college friends’ Alicia and Chris house to celebrate…..wait for it……my 40th birthday. yikes

I have been sewing here and there too!

I finished up the cross stitches I shared last time into two pillow tucks:

And I just finished stitching a little flower pocket by Stacy Nash…a little late for the 4th but it will be ready for next summer =)

I used up almost all the rest of my Darla fabric to make some pillows and a huge quilted comforter for the Shasta.   It was so much fun trying the scalloped edges on the pillow…not bad for my first try!

Here they are inside the camper with the bed all made up:

It’s kind of too match-matchy now with the curtains matching the bedding, but I am too lazy to make new curtains! LOL Maybe next year.

I found another set of  really cute vintage pillow cases too!

My second attempt at making scallops and my first with putting a bias binding on scallops wrapped up yesterday with the dresden plate I finally finished.

I did a little re-frame job on the stitchery gifted to me by Kathy:

And here it is on the little shelf in the camper:

Oh my goodness, congrats if you made it all the way through this post. JESSSH!

Hope your summer is AMAZING too!

Later Gators,

Melissa

9 comments on “Everything that has been happening since the last time we met…

  1. Melody says:

    Awww. Your camper is so cute. Although you have given me inspiration to do more with ours it would be way better if you would just come and do ours please. LOL And welcome to over-the-hill. :)

  2. Mary says:

    It sounds like it has been a crazy busy summer, but loaded with wonderful times and the creation of great memories.

    I just love the decor in the Shasta!!!! It is perfect and looks like so much fun.

    Happy belated birthday!!!! The forties and fifties are FABULOUS!!!!!!

  3. Oh my gosh!!!~ I’ve been movin, cleanin, movin, cleanin,,,,,, so tired. BUT!~not too tired to find your new post and just HAVE to stop what I’m doing and say,
    GIRL< YOU ROCK!!!!~
    LOVe it all!
    wow!
    the girls are so beautiful! (young ladies, sorry…)
    sigh
    so envious. :)
    ENOY every minute of all of your adventures and you really have a GREAT HUSBAND!!!! whooooo hoooooo!!!!~ I'd buy him a 12 pk of CORONA if I lived near ya!
    hey, we've discussed this in the past and it's a good thing I don't, cause I'd be beatin a path to your house girl!!!~
    BIG HUG!!!!~
    keep on, keepin on! :)
    XO

  4. P.S.
    You know what?? Your photos make me smell starch and PINE SOL… :)
    IN a good way! yeahp!~ but then, I’ve been cleaning straight out for weeks, so that is all I smell anyways, but your camper is SO CLEAN and those linens. ahhhh….. dreamy. literally. I could FALL into bed and not get up till… the smell of bacon frying hit me :)
    Lots of great memories happening in this lovely home. God Bless

  5. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    So good to read a post from you … and to see that summer is fun and happening for you and the family. LOVE the Shasta … drooling over all the pictures and I do NOT think the curtains are too “matchy-matchy” … enjoy them and someday do up another pair. Girls are looking wonderful and I second the sentiment that the 40’s and 50’s are great … wait until you hit 60 and the WORLD is yours … the best is still ahead of you!! ENJOY EVERY MINUTE, MELISSA!!

  6. Kelle says:

    Love your blog Melissa! Your little Shasta is adorable and so are your daughters!

  7. quarkee says:

    Just found your blog. Your quilts are beeootiful!!!!! Am off to have a look around. Love your caravan too!

  8. Jean says:

    Oh, my goodness! The stuff you made for the Shasta is just tooooooo adorable!!!!!! Good job!!!

  9. Linda says:

    I enjoyed every second of your post!!! The Shasta looks like it could go in the Smithsonian!! It’s gorgeous!!! Love your Blissful Dresden quilt!!! Looks like its been a wonderful summer for you!:-)

Comments are closed.