mubmummb…

…is what I sound like right now due to the whole left side of my face being numb from the dentist.

Don’t ya hate that?

My crown came off last night while flossing.  It was just luck that my cleaning was scheduled today.

I swear it hurt more than any other dental process I’ve ever had while putting it back on, it was so darn sensitive.

We had to do about 10 shots and I STILL could feel the pain. uggg

Glad that’s over, now just to wear a bib while I drink my morning coffee. giggle.

Mom and I have been having a sewing day each week now that the kiddies are back to school.

We’ve made two minnies so far and the next sew day we’re going for pincushions.  It’s so nice to hang out with her, she’s my favorite!

(the log cabin-y one is jo morton and the shoo fly one is kim diehl)

I finished Mom’s cross stitch just in time for her birthday.  It features her Mom and Dad’s name, and the year they were married.

My grandfather’s name was VL.  Just letters, no periods, no intials…just VL.  His brother’s name was RL.

I’m not really sure why their mother chose letters instead of a traditional name, but I think it’s cool because my Grandpa was the coolest guy EVER!

(free pattern by blackbird designs)

I volunteered to make the Homecoming parade banner for the girl’s elementary school at the last PTA meeting.

I was pretty proud of it when I got it done.

I ran downstairs to show The BG, “Look honey, doesn’t it look good?”

“Umm… Melissa, you spelled Fremont wrong.”

“What???? No I didn’t! F-R-E-E-M-O-N-T right?”  I asked hopefully.

“Nope, Fremont only has 1 E.  It’s a dude’s name.”

I almost cried!  It was all centered and buttonhole stitched down.  So I got out the seam ripper and started ripping at about midnight.

Now it’s all off centered and the glue from where the F used to be is very apparent.  I mean really who spells Free with only one E?  Jesssh. =)~

I’m going to go get it back and put a Bearcat paw there so it won’t be so darn ugly.

But they used it anyway…nice people that they are.

The parade was so fun.  I do love a marching band so.

Along my excursions out last week I found some VERY cute flour sack fabric, a colorful vintage flour sifter, and an awesome new scale.

I’m seeing some cute vignettes for the Shasta with all this.

Have an awesome day and remember to brush and floss! hehehe

Melissa

4 comments on “mubmummb…

  1. Sandra Henderson says:

    WOW!~Who made the feedsack fabric?!!? I’d love to buy some…
    You have such a great sense of style. I love your banner and I’m so sorry for the school not spelling the name correctly! :)
    We’d get along great… lol

  2. Sandra Henderson says:

    P.S.
    LOVE your sampler and other quilts too!
    That is a real heirloom… You JUST started stitching and LOOK AT YOU GO!

  3. Sue says:

    Melissa, great post! I hate the whole crown thing. Trust me, I have a few of them :/ Going to the dentist is not one of my favorite things to do. Thus, the reason my back tooth is killing me and I haven’t done anything about it!

    I think you did a great job on the banner. What a great picture of the kids holding it up.

    How nice that you can quilt with your mom. My mom has no interest whatsoever in it even though she made many as a kid:/ *sigh*

  4. Oooo sounds painful…… Live that flour sack fabric!

Comments are closed.