collecting

source:  Frog Goes to Market

There’s something so exciting about being on the hunt for great pieces at great prices while out antiquing isn’t there?

I’ve started a new collection: Ironstone.

A couple pieces have found their way to my house in the last few weeks.  Not even enough to call it a collection yet, but it’s a start.

Here is my newest find a wonderful old pitcher.

What have you been collecting lately?

Oh! Speaking of antiques ( not Grandma, the chair she brought me!)….

The BG’s sweet, fabulous, wonderful Grandma Straub brought us over a house warming gift this past weekend.  Grandma Straub is one of those amazing women that has so much grace, and poise, and love.  I adore her.   Both of my Grandma’s have gone to heaven, so I appreciate The BG’s Grandmas that much more.

She found this wonderful chair at an estate sale and thought of us!

I love the pattern on the upholstery.  It looks like quilts squares!

Does anyone know what this chair was used for?  It sits really low to the ground.  The legs are only about 4 or 5  inches high.  It’s really comfy!

Well I’m off to do what else?? More painting …arrrggg.

Later gators,

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “collecting

  1. Michelle says:

    Perhaps it was made for short people like me!

  2. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Not sure but I think they are known as “slipper chairs” … you used them in a bedroom to sit down and put your shoes and socks on or just have a place to perch. At least that is what MY family always referred to these type of chairs as. COOL CHAIR, by the way … way to go Grandma Straub!

  3. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Where’s what I found when I “googled” slipper chair … http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/slipper_chair

  4. Tammy says:

    Love the new chair, so cute. Sounds like you are blessed to have Grandma’s on your hubby’s side of the family. Grandmas are the best and your girls are super blessed to have great grandmas!! Love your new collection, what era does that date back to??

Comments are closed.