Filling an awkward space

We have a wonderful little nook in our dinning room where there’s lots of light and a nice view.

We didn’t want to fill that space with furniture because it would block the windows, but it looked funny with nothing there.

This is where a handy Father comes in, well…handy!  Dad measured the area and built a nice long bench for us to use as a window seat.

If you don’t have a handy Father, I have seen people turn old coffee tables into upholstered benches.

Since I do have a handy, and generous Father mine got delivered a few days ago.

Here is what it looked like after I attached, with spray adhesive, some left-over 5 inch foam from making  the Shasta cushions.

Next I went to price out upholstery fabric. I couldn’t commit to a pattern I loved so I decided to use a plain off white fabric.  It was going to be around $70.00.  But then I have a DING DONG go off in my head and I remembered seeing people use drop cloths for all kinds of upholstering and drapery projects.  Right next to the fabric store is a hardware store so I decided to check it out.  I got two LARGE drop cloths for $6.00 a piece…yep that was the way to go!

  While the drop cloths were washing and drying I draped the bench in fluffy poly batting, pinned the corners, trimmed to about a 1/2 inch,  and sewed them up.

Next I turned the batting right side out and using a staple gun, stapled the batting all around the base.

Then I flipped the bench over and painted the legs, and added felt pads to the bottom (which I should have done first, but forgot about them since I was too excited to start sewing LOL.)

I ironed the drop clothes and started by centering the top and repeating the pin/sew step just like the batting.

After I made and added the piping, I sewed a box pleat skirt and sewed that on.

We think it fits so nicely here in the window alcove!

The best part is we can drag it around wherever we need extra seating!

Later gators!

Melissa

15 comments on “Filling an awkward space

  1. Michelle says:

    It must be great having such a handy father, my hubby likes to make things too but his latest project has taken a year so far, Lol I just have to be a little patient ;O) And plan in advance! What is the next project you plan to work on?

  2. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Love it and really like that you showed the various steps to get to the end result. That is VERY cool. I have always been intrigued by upholstery and being able to convert something old or boring into something very cool. Good job!

  3. Debby says:

    Wow! I wish i was that handy to make my own one!!

  4. leeanne says:

    Gorgeousness!! Lucky you to have a handy Dad!

  5. Kathy Foster says:

    You and your dad make a very great team, Missy – I love it that you do projects like this together!

  6. Connie says:

    Just beautiful. Perfect solution. I love it !. Connie

  7. SoozeM says:

    Wow that is gorgeous!! I bought a chair from Ikea on the weekend and plan to cover it myself instead of buying one of their covers, I think I will go and check out my hardware store!

  8. Elizabeth Swinney says:

    What a great idea. very nice job!

  9. Mary says:

    It looks awesome, Melissa. I love the idea of a drop cloth too as it will make cleanup so easy.

  10. Brenda says:

    That turned out fantastic! I have a handy husband, have been waiting for 4 years for him to build some window seats. But that is ok because he has been working on other things, this one just keeps getting pushed to the bottom of the long list.

  11. I love love love your dining room!!

  12. Melanie says:

    You are gifted– what talent…. I’ve always said– it’s never how much money you have– it’s what you do with it. Great job.

  13. libby says:

    I need a handy dad and a handy upholsterer, too. What a wonderful and perfect piece!

  14. Sandra says:

    Beautiful LOVE it remember to tell him you LOVE him cause mine is gone now and I miss everyday cause he’d do this kinda thing for me!

  15. Charlotte S says:

    Simply beautiful!

    Charlotte

Comments are closed.