vintage notions

How’s your fall going?

I had the most lovely country drive yesterday. The fall colors were at their most brilliant, they were taking my breath away!

I’ve been out and about searching for and collecting vintage sewing items for an impending shop update.

Needles, needle cases,scissors,  darners, thimbles…yummmm.

I’m gearing up to make some  new little trinket boxes to list.

I just love this stuff so much it’s kinda hard to part with it! I thought they looked so pretty all laid out ready to go into their little “kits” I thought I would share them.

This might be my very favorite thing:  an old wooden thimble ♥

There’s something so comforting about old stuff isn’t there?

Enjoy your day!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

9 comments on “vintage notions

  1. Sue says:

    Well, how the heck are ya! So nice to see your post and boy, do you have some awesome things heading to your shop!!

    Our leaves over here are pretty much on the ground now :( But autumn is such a pleasant time of year and the colors have been quite lovely.

    Enjoy the rest of your day!

  2. leeanne says:

    Wow you have a wonderful collection! We just don’t see such beauties here in New Zealand.

  3. Goodness, you are finding some very neat things! I have so many old wooden Coats and Clarks Thread spools from my mother and her mother, and I just adore them. I keep them on my big thread rack with all my other spools of Gutermann and Madiera, and when I glance at them, I remember them and all the sewing they did, living on the farms, raising children, chickens, livestock, feeding hired men, gardening, canning, etc. I just love them! Yes, there IS something very comforting about vintage sewing things. They have character and history! I enjoy your blog, Melissa!

  4. Kathy Foster says:

    Love this stuff. It brings back the history and the memories that are the most precious to us! Don’t see quite as much of the vintage stuff out here, but I love looking at your finds!

  5. Mary says:

    I love all of the old sewing notions too.

  6. The Frugal Quilter says:

    I always think of you when I see little things like this… let us know when you have things in your shop, please. I was just up in the Smokey Mtns. and it was SO pretty!~ and the weather was such a relief from our long, hot summers. Going back up for another retreat next month, can’t wait! I was thinking of your cute little camper on the way home… dreaming of having one to pull behind my Buick Enclave. lol

  7. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    It would be really hard to part with any of that … I just love setting it around in little vignettes … there is a certain aura about it all that’s nice. Glad you had a nice day … LOVE this time of the year with its color billiance. Have a greaet weekend!

  8. Mary says:

    I love all of your vintage sewing notions, Oh dear I feel another collection in my horizon. I do have a few things already.Time to start my hunt!

  9. Sarah says:

    Brings back memories for me having been raised on a farm when handmade wasn’t a choice. My mother made us clothes without a pattern. When we were older we told her how we wanted an outfit to look and she could produce it in a day, simple but just as we had described. In the 60s it was a straight skirt and roll-up sleeve blouse. Thankful for my mama.

Comments are closed.