Take me camping!

cornbread and beans blog 013

I haven’t been able to stand it.  I had to put all my “stuff” out in my camper because we have been teased with some sunny, but still COOOOOOLD days.

This is what my poor little lonely Shasta looks like today.  She needs a sweater doesn’t she? LOL

We’ve been working on a new interior configuration for camping.  We get sick of taking up and putting down the table and making the bed when we are actually out camping in her. Lets face it sometimes after a long day camping and beer  around the campfire, you just want to crawl into bed!   The BG didn’t want anything permanent because he likes the larger dinette situation when we just play in her at home.

I think we have it figured out…I had to make a new set of shorter bench cushions (thankfully the fabric store still had some of my cushion fabric, ) store the longer back rest cushions in the basement , and place the long seat cushions the short way for a bed we can leave there while camping and a new table top will go between the new short cushions.

cornbread and beans blog 014

This works well for us because we can just put everything back and store the short cushions when we want it the old way

As I was cleaning up and dusting off the camp stuff, I took a look at my old Weekender Bag by Amy Butler.  I made this 6 or 7 years ago and it’s been well used. Showing signs of lots of travel between the girls and I using it. It used to have a nice crisp shape, but now looks all squished.

cornbread and beans blog 011

So this weekend I sat down to make a new one.  I shared this reproduction flour sack panel fabric a couple years ago and never got around to making anything with it for the camper.

cornbread and beans blog 012

  OHHHH wouldn’t it be cute to use for a new Weekender ?

Here’s how it turned out…

cornbread and beans blog 001

cornbread and beans blog 003

I’m in trouble now, because my girls want one!!!

PicMonkey Collage

Later gators!

Melissa

5 comments on “Take me camping!

  1. Sharon Eshlaman says:

    How lovely….the camper, it’s decorated style, the awesome bags, etc. Very cool – just like the weather :-) I’m wishing for warmer, sunny days for you and your family to pull the camper down the road.

  2. Karen says:

    I’ve had the weekender pattern for a couple years now, I would really like make one! Yours is bright and cheerful. It makes me think of summer :)

  3. Sunnybec says:

    Love your bag and I really love your camper. Just wish we could get some warm sunny weather to go camping!! Linda

  4. Sue says:

    Stellar! I want a Shasta camper so badly!!

    Your interior looks fantastic! Love your new weekend bag!

  5. Joan says:

    Someone on another blog just made this weekender bag and said it was very difficult and had six pages of corrections. She said she would never make it again. Did you find this difficult? BTW, this was not a beginner sewer, she has even made several wedding dresses.

Comments are closed.