cornbread and beans quilting blog 055

It’s the first day of school and all is quiet and still in the house.

*****breath***

Patience leaves when it is still dark out, so I walked her to the bus stop and sent her off without too much kissing and hugging…can’t embarrass her!

PicMonkey Collage

And Minate walks to school an hour later.  I could barely snap a picture of her because she was in such a hurry to go to the neighbors house and walk with her friend.  I didn’t want her to go. I wanted her to wait here with us until it was time to go, but The BG made me let go.

She forgot to even give me a hug!!

corbreadandbeans

So when The BG was heading out to work and saw me looking forlorn, “Are you leaving me too?” I said pathetically.

“And you think you won’t have Empty Nest Syndrome,” he teased.  He told me to walk over and get my hug from Minate…so I did. I felt better, and Minate just laughed at me.

 It is pretty strange to me that I couldn’t wait to get back to school and have the kids back to a routine , but this morning I couldn’t let go.

I want my kids back!!!!

I ‘m having a Mom moment I said to myself, I’ll get over it.

I will say this though, the first cup of coffee without ten fights to break up was a pretty great tasting cup of coffee!! LOL

_____________________________________________________

The BG and I worked on a new project yesterday.  We’ve been really into making things out of reclaimed wood.

He made me a really cool table for the bathroom re-decorating upstairs, and a really cool wooden backdrop for one of my shelves yesterday.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 060

And here it is sitting on my shelf . I made a fall wreath to hang on it.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 016

I’ve been slowly adding fall decor to the tables and shelves.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 020

I really wanted to try and be kind of minimal this year.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 021

cornbread and beans quilting blog 023

cornbread and beans quilting blog 022

  I’m just getting less and less into  all the fuss of the pumpkin dolls and primitive stuff that I have boxes and boxes of.  I’m sure they will make their way out for Halloween decorating, but for now I am just liking a more laid back look.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 027

I picked up some beautiful dried gourds at The Olde Granary a couple weekends ago, and tried to sprinkle them around.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 032

I’ll leave you with one last  fall-ish instagram pic I took last weekend.

Later gators!

Melissa

cornbread and beans quilting blog 056

This entry was posted in Quilts.

6 comments on “

  1. Kim says:

    I love your pumpkin and crow quilt with the Lemoyne stars. Is that one of your patterns that is available? Or could you share with me who’s pattern it is so I might see about purchasing it.
    I remember the days well of my children leaving for school, now they are grown and will soon have children of their own leaving for school.

  2. Kathy Foster says:

    LOL- I don’t think you know the meaning of minimalist…:) What you see as a “little decorating” would be more than most of us do all year… your home looks great… I know what you mean about it being hard to let go… I took the first day of school off every year so that I could be with them till the last minute – those years go way to fast. Can’t believe how grown-up your girls are getting.. Thanks for the post!

  3. Kathy says:

    Everything looks so beautiful, & actually looks like it belongs where you put it.
    Great job.
    Kathy

  4. Mary says:

    Your fall decorating is so wonderful, Melissa. I just can’t go there yet – plus we are having a heat wave so it doesn’t feel so much like fall.

    Having the kids go back is always tough, but it is amazing how quickly we can get back into the routine of the house being quiet again.

  5. marylou55 says:

    Your fall quilts look so nice. After a two-quilt-on-the-bed night last night, I’m ready to start fall decorating, too.

  6. Miss Jean says:

    Your home is so very pretty! I love the pumpkin and crow wall hanging. What pattern is that?

Comments are closed.