One for the guys.

cornbread and beans blog 003

Last week The BG was in Philly for a conference, the kids were in school all day, and my parents are in Texas helping my Uncle Ron while he goes through cancer surgery.

So I spent a couple days visiting antique stores just to get out of the VERY empty house.

When I spotted this vintage football I fell in love.  It just whispered fall to me.  I kept walking around, but couldn’t get it out of my mind, so it came home with me.

I promised The BG that I would watch his Alma Mater,  U of M , play football this year if he also kept up with my Alma Mater CMU.  So Saturday’s have been football days for us around here.

1011016_10151479005063053_1896414954_n

I decided to build a little vignette around the vintage football for the hubs.

Our realtor and family friend gave me this old singer sewing machine cabinet this past spring . It was just sitting on the front porch doing nothing.  So I cleaned it up and brought it in.

cornbread and beans blog 009

An old wooden crate got filled with tailgating supplies:  vintage plaid picnic bag,  vintage thermos,   wool throw, some vintage football photos, and a little chalkboard to keep score.  I think I need to find some vintage U of M  and Central pennants to stick in there too!

Untitled

cornbread and beans blog 002

I made the chalkboard picture frame out of a frame I got from hobby lobby, and some vinyl chalkboard contact paper that I just stuck right on the glass.

cornbread and beans blog 011

I’m off to make a pot of chili for the game!

Later gators,

Melissa

Linking up Here.

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “One for the guys.

  1. Kathy Foster says:

    I love, love, love that old football – it makes me just want to hold it! I used to have an old Singer machine in a cabinet just like that – I loved that too. I’ve moved around so much that somehow it’s disappeared over the years – wonder where it went?

    I saw on FB that you guys are going to do your fall applepicking even tho your mom and dad are in TX – I’m so glad that the tradition will continue even without them this year. I always look forward to seeing the fall pictures you guys take. Please drink some fresh cider for me – they don’t have cider mills out here in UT for some reason, and I really miss that fresh-pressed taste!

    Happy Fall!!!!

  2. Lee says:

    Such an awesome display. M go Blue!

  3. Love the title of your blog!

  4. Charlotte S says:

    Love your football vignette – you are so creative.

    Charlotte

Comments are closed.