A new over mantel

So we finally did it.

We took the enormous dated mirror down from over the mantel.

It turned into a minor disaster, but the monster mirror is gone. Sheww.

Here’s a before shot of the offending mirror.

cornbreadandbeansblog 021

I researched taking mirrors down on the internet and took all the proper precautions: duct tape the mirror, use heavy duty suction cups, wear goggles and gloves, etc.

It was really all for naught as the mirror was tucked in behind the ceiling plaster and behind the mantel wood, so there was nowhere to shimmy anything behind it to break the glue patches.

The initial plan was to save the mirror glass to use in other projects, but we had been working on getting it off for a few hours and at that point The BG and I were so frustrated we just decided to give it a little tap to break off a portion and work from there.

One little tap…

Okay cool we got a little chunk off.

Two little taps…

OH NOOOOOOOOOO!

Here’s were my advice for removing a mirror comes in: LAY DOWN A PROTECTIVE TARP OVER YOUR WOOD FLOORS!!!!!!!

The whole mirror shattered into a million pieces and damaged our floors!!

cornbreadandbeansblog 022Yikes!

After I finished crying , and the BG finished cursing my need to DIY , we continued.

We hung 1/4 inch plywood to get a nice smooth surface then added  1 x 3 (I think) per-primed mdf, and a little piece of trim at the top to TRY to match the crown molding.  In an old house you know nothing is ever level or square!

cornbreadandbeansblog 024

At this point The BG said, “there you go,” grabbed a beer and watched the football game.

I did the caulking (it took ALOT to patch the top) and the painting, and now I LOVE IT!

No more ugly mirror!

cornbreadandbeansblog 026

I’d love to replace the floor tiles, and to figure out how to remove the old gas heater that is in there. ( Can you feel my husband cringing?)  I don’t think it is hooked up to gas,I can almost pull it right out if it weren’t for the tubing that goes somewhere??  But considering the way this project went, I might need to call in an expert. I don’t want to blow us up!!! LOL

Later gators!

Melissa

9 comments on “A new over mantel

  1. JUDY STEWART says:

    Thank you for starting my day off with a great laugh. That was so funny. And yes, it was an ugly mirror and it really looks go great now. I agree, get an expert to remove the stove, ha., Judy Stewart

    ________________________________

  2. I think all your hard work was really worthwhile! Love the new, cozy look of that area.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours too….
    Nettie from Spanish Fork, Utah

  3. primitivejan says:

    OMG…. I will say a prayer for the broken mirror and superstitions but WOWZERS…! ! ! I love the new look. Hope you can fix the floors without too much work. So sorry for the mishap but the final product looks Awesome. Congrats and kudos to all the hard work.

  4. Gayle says:

    Can’t believe the difference – your new wall is just gorgeous! Nice results in spite of the difficulties.

  5. Teri Maisner says:

    it turned out beaitiful….. even with the minor disasters… good idea to call a professional on the gas part! LOL Have a great week…. I have an awesome quilt kit coming together! :)

  6. So sorry about the damage to your hardwood floor and the mess but your hard work paid off because it looks great!

  7. Charlotte S says:

    What a great make over. Looks wonderful. DIY projects always have some downsides. Also love the saw used as a quilt holder in your previous post.

  8. Miss Jean says:

    I can’t wait to see how you decorate it now! A wreath or a quilt perhaps?

  9. Colleen says:

    Oh Melissa! It is gorgeous!! It may have hurt a little, but wow what a result!

    PS.. Thank you for commenting on my blog… when I e-mailed you a reply, it bounced back to me with some kind of glitch in the address, so I just wanted to make sure you knew I got it and what a great idea you gave me for the spare room! – Colleen

Comments are closed.