Some Down to the Wire Sewing

cornbread and beans blog 004

On Monday The BG mentioned he needed a gift for the secretary he works with.  I really like her , and I think she’s the kind of person that would enjoy something handmade.

So I got to work and pulled out some REALLY old  fat quarters that I have always wanted to use up, and an old pattern from a long ago APQ magazine.

I made one for us too since the one I had made years ago mysteriously grew a big glob of super glue after some children that I know had fake nails on…. Hmmm?

Here they are ready to quilt today.

cornbread and beans blog 006

Then I started to think …maybe these are too bright ?

Then I remembered I had a charm pack of fabric that is kind of secretary-ish.  What to make, what to make?  I always wanted to try Pink Penguin’s lunch bag!

So yesterday about 2:00 I started, and by evening ( with laundry, house work, and dinner thrown in there) I had finished two lunch bags that I adore! I had to fiddle around with the measurements because I did patchwork, and I switched up some of the finishing instructions, but all in all it was super fun and easy. Thank you Pink Penguin!!

Fronts:

cornbread and beans blog 800

Backs:

cornbread and beans blog 900

I ran out to Target last night when I was done  to find some sort of bento box, or lunch container to slip inside.  I found this really cute little box that holds a sandwich and sides.

cornbread and beans blog 010

It fits perfectly inside and still has room for a water bottle or drink.

cornbread and beans blog 100

(Opps I see some threads that need snipping)

When I showed The BG and asked him which gift he wanted to give, he said definitely the lunch bag!! Glad I made two, cause I really wanted one too! LOL

I learned over the years to always make two of the little projects, cause sometimes it’s just really hard to give away! =)

How about you ? Are you making some last minute projects?

Later gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

10 comments on “Some Down to the Wire Sewing

  1. Sigrid Golnik says:

    Wow – wish I was on your Christmas list; and yes, I like to make 2 right away too, because like you, it is easier to let go when something turns out super nice!! (Just a picture of it – doesn’t always cut it – right?)

  2. Patty says:

    You are amazing – like the Energizer Bunny of sewing! I think the table runners are beautiful (and not too bright for me, lol – I love turquoise and red for Christmas). But the lunch bags are also very nice – and I’m sure will be appreciated.

    Have a wonderful Christmas !

    Patty

  3. Brenda says:

    You make the most thoughtful and beautiful gifts! There’s going to be a very happy secretary in your neck of the woods.

  4. Colleen says:

    Oh wow! Those turned out wonderful!

  5. Leah p says:

    You inspire me so much! Now if I would just stop dreaming and get to work!

  6. Karen says:

    Beautiful gifts and so very thoughtful. This is a great idea. I like the snow falling on your blog too!

  7. Those lunch bags are fab. I love your theory of keep one, give one! We have a bag fundraiser in my town and I am always asked to donate, I think one of these is on my agenda. Thank you for sharing,

  8. Sharon Eshlaman in Galesburg says:

    I wish I were the lucky lady getting one of those bags. They are awesome. Nice job!

  9. Linda H says:

    Great job on all of them … you’re right about duplicates … you can never go wrong!! Merry Christmas!

  10. wendy says:

    Lovely tablerunner and lunch bag, I like both but would love a lunch bag for Christmas. I don’t often make 2 when giving something away but then wish I had made one for me too. Merry Christmas.

Comments are closed.