January Living Room, or my good luck thrifting.

Cornbread and Beans Blog 041

I must admit I had a hard time getting myself going with the decorating after Christmas. I had bought a new mirror, and some large candle sticks for the mantel, but after that I was stuck.

I’ve been slowly transitioning from primitive country to a more industrial/salvage/urban farmhouse style that my home seems to be asking for. Yeah my house can talk, can’t yours? hehehe

I went out and about yesterday to see what I could see. Lo and behold,  the thrift/antique fairy sprinkled dust on me, as she’s want to do at times, and I found some treasures to spark my decorating mojo.

I found this AWEsome little pelt at the bible thrift for 4 dollars.

Cornbread and Beans Blog 005

If pelts don’t scream freezing cold winter, I don’t know what does.  I kinda felt sorry for whatever little animal this was, but it was already dead, and I knew I would treat it nice, so I took it home.

I was wondering what to put in the wooden crate, and this got me started.

I added some ironstone, collected some twigs from outside and added some silver candle stick holders found at the same thrift.

Cornbread and Beans Blog 700

I copied someone’s idea of hanging a boxwood wreath on my chalkboard then scripted the words “winter blessings.”

The silver  deer antlers are left over from another arrangement I had for Christmas and are hanging way too high, but I already had a nail there. So to save The BG from having an apoplexy from making too many holes in the wall , there they will stay. LOL

Cornbread and Beans Blog 002

On the VERY SAME DAY, I found this tattered old globe for 10 dollars, and it was in the same color way as the candle sticks I had bought for the mantel.

Cornbread and Beans Blog 020

I found one little tealy blue book and then I was on the hunt for more…. I gathered quite a few blueish books.  The first few were from an antique store which were around 3 bucks a piece, but then I hit the thrift store and WOW thrift store books are only 1 dollar a piece.  Note to self….only buy books at thrift.

Cornbread and Beans Blog 025

Here’s the mantel put together

Cornbread and Beans Blog 018

Cornbread and Beans Blog 017

Swinging around to the love seat area, I just added some tealy pillows to try and tie it in.

Cornbread and Beans Blog 010

To carry on with my globe and book theme the coffee table has things a scholarly traveler might need, like journals, a quill, some binoculars (a 3 dollar thrift store find,) shells one must collect, and the scale for I don’t know what?? HA maybe to weight his biggest shell?

Cornbread and Beans Blog 035

Cornbread and Beans Blog 033

Behind the love seat is a mish mash of things I had around and a paper mache 3 I tried to make “rusty.”

Cornbread and Beans Blog 013

Now it’s on to the family room.  I’m having fun!

I’m trying to practice with my Christmas present from my fabulous husband, a fancy dancy Rebel T3i dslr camera.  Wow am I intimidated. So far I can click the shutter button.  LOL!!!!!!I better get out there and watch some videos!!!

Later gators,

Melissa

Linking Here 

and Here

10 comments on “January Living Room, or my good luck thrifting.

  1. Lee says:

    Your pictures are so clear and sparkling. I can see the snow out the window….brrrr

  2. judi says:

    Very pretty. My house is in a big rut but I am working on it!

  3. wendy says:

    Your decorating looks GREAT! I’m having trouble figuring out how to decorate after the holidays.

  4. Linda H says:

    As always your decorating taste is impeccable! Nice job!!

  5. bermudagirl says:

    Melissa, your homemaking looks fantastic as usual. Love your new alteration to your style though I’m sure you know how to make everything look good. Glad to see you back blogging.
    Jodie

  6. Teri Maisner says:

    LOVE It all! You are so talented!!! And the BG shared some awesome tidbits with me about the Glamper the other day!!

  7. Melanie says:

    No quilts for January??? I have a coffee table similar to yours — Love your ideas. I’m trying to lightening up the rooms around here too.

  8. kfaris11 says:

    Reblogged this on Twinzy Toys and commented:
    Beautiful arrangement. Where did you find the eggs?

  9. Ani in NC says:

    I adore the new look! The light tealie is a favorite color of mine. PLEASE come to my home and give it a makeover – what’s your price?! :)

  10. LOL!! If its warm I’ll come for free. =)

Comments are closed.