Sewing Room Sailor Heart Tattoo Tutorial

cornbread and beans blog 053

Sure the blog title sounds confusing, but as soon as you saw the craft that goes with it I’m sure you now know what I meant.

I was feeling crafty today and so I went through my “Sew It Up” category on pinterest.  I came across these awesome embroidery patterns that I had  pinned from Urban Threads.com

7d76664e2acf099132bf37148f3fdb01

I had also always wanted to make a spool wreath, so I put the two ideas together and came up with a kick butt little piece of art for my sewing room.

Wanna make one too? LOL

First you need to gather:

some vintage spools

a pencil/marker

scissors

steak knife or exacto knife

cardboard

batting

glue gun and glue sticks

optional- glitter, elmers glue, printer and paper

Okay warning bad iphone photos ahead, I didn’t want to get glue on my new camera! LOL

1. Start by placing your spools in a heart like shape on the middle of your cardboard and trace around the shape with a pencil.

cornbread and beans blog 028

2. Take your spools off and then draw some little wings on each side of the heart. I  used pencil first and then went over it with a black marker so I could trace the wing with paper , cut it out then used it as a template for the other wing.

cornbread and beans blog 030

3. Cut your heart/wings out with an exacto knife.  I seem to have lost mine, so I just used a steak knife….very high tech. I then used some acrylic white paint to paint it out so that I would have a white background if anything showed throw.

cornbread and beans blog 035

4. Now cut some feathers out of your batting. I cut three or four long feathers for the ends of the wings, and then just some little u shapes for the middle.  I used my paper template that I used to trace the left wing and cut a little “cap” for the top of the wing.  I mostly just fudged this and every feather was kind of wonky.

cornbread and beans blog 036

5. Start gluing your feathers on with your glue gun. Start with the wing tip and long feathers.

cornbread and beans blog 037

Then keep going with the bottom row on the bottom of the wing.

cornbread and beans blog 038

Keep going until you reach the top , then add your little wing cap. (see my wing cap in the top of the picture.)

cornbread and beans blog 039

6. When you have both wings done, use your glue gun  to  attach a hanger. I used measuring tape ribbon.  Then glue on your spools.

cornbread and beans blog 040

I added some buttons to the tops of my wings, you could be as creative here as you want….you could add glitter to the wings, hot glue on some scissors or anything else sewing related.

You could leave it plain.

cornbread and beans blog 044

Or print out a little banner and glitter the edges:

cornbread and beans blog 058

I had fun! I hope you craft something cool too!

Later gators,

Melissa

Linking Here

11 comments on “Sewing Room Sailor Heart Tattoo Tutorial

  1. Mary says:

    That is sew cute!!!! What a great idea!

  2. kfaris11 says:

    Reblogged this on Twinzy Toys and commented:
    A fine notion of notions.

  3. Brenda says:

    Sew love this! I am going to pin it because I have some old spools just lounging in a basket in my sewing room. How fun!

  4. Becky says:

    This is awesome–thanks so much for linking up!

  5. Melanie says:

    Hey — every time I try to email you it bounces back and rejects it. Hope every thing is OK.

  6. Carmody says:

    This is really pretty, great idea

  7. Thank you Carmody! I love it in my sewing room!

  8. Thank you Becky! Thanks for hosting the party. =)

  9. Thanks Brenda! Have fun using up those cute spools =)

Comments are closed.