Quilts and Clocks

Hi friends! Are you surviving the Polar Vortex? If you are reading this somewhere warm, be thankful! =)  The kids just went back to school today in my neighborhood after 4 canceled school days in a row! I’m sure we are well over the allotted snow days now after having 4 or 5 days cancelled the previous polar vortex go-around as well.  We are not out of the woods yet with a huge snow storm heading our way next week.

YIKES.

Here’s what the sidewalk looks like in front of our house already:

cornbread and beans 004

The snow is up to their shoulders!! Any more and it will be over their heads. LOL It’s kind of fun actually. We just make sure and stock up on supplies when the roads are okay to drive.

With it being tough to get out and about, I have been staying warm inside quilting.

In my effort to lighten and brighten I made a white background album block quilt for the piano room.

album block quilt cornbread and beans quiltingI really want to paint the walls white in here, but will have to wait to dig out to go buy paint. In the meantime, I thought a brighter quilt would help out.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 001

Did you notice my  recent acquisition of vintage alarm clocks?

Here’s a closer look:

cornbread and beans quilting blog 008

cornbread and beans quilting blog 006

I love them!  I talked an antique dealer into letting me have 6 of them for $40.00!! Mom and Dad and I spotted them while Mom was home for a visit from Texas.  There were 50 or so in boxes and when I first asked about them he said they were 10- 15 bucks apiece. I said, ” watch this Dad, I’m going to take these up there and ask if he’ll take 40 bucks.”  I’m getting to be a wheeler dealer! Ha haha

I’m trying to finish writing instructions for a new pattern called Blueberry Buckle I’ll be putting out next week.  Here’s a sneak peek:

cornbread and beans quilting blog 009

Doesn’t it remind you of a blueberry desert? Yumm.

Later gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

15 comments on “Quilts and Clocks

  1. Jan Steffens says:

    Love the old clocks and your quilts!!

  2. Leah Buffington says:

    Love your quilts and your clocks also.

  3. Sue says:

    Love the quilt you have hung in your piano room! Love all those colors. I especially love your Blueberry Buckle quilt pattern! I will be on the lookout for the pattern!

    Somehow I thought your mom lived nearby you. We used to live in Texas many moons ago. :)

    Stay warm and bundle up!

  4. Donna Klessner says:

    Love your Blueberry Buckle Quilt pattern! And all of your decor!

  5. gayleburton says:

    Both quilts look so pretty hanging from those shelf thingies – fun way to decorate with them – they add so much warmth to the house! Your new alarm clocks add quite a bit to the industrial vibe you’ve got going on!

  6. Jean says:

    That sure brings back memories of waiting for the school bus in Level Park!!!!! Can’t wait for the finished quilt pattern – it’s beautiful. I like the contrast of the walls with the white quilt.

  7. Kim Bates says:

    Love the quilt and the shelf, too- where did you get that? I need one!

  8. Ann says:

    Oh my Lord, I love everything about your quilts include the beautiful display vignettes! And I didn’t know I wanted a collection of old clocks until I saw yours. Tx for the creative inspiration!

  9. Debbie myers says:

    Need the pattern! Love it!!!

  10. Gloria says:

    Will be looking forward to Blueberry Buckle quilt pattern…..as if I need other pattern on my “to do” list!! Love, love the clocks. I keep watching for them but haven’t found any at antique shops that I can really buy…too expensive. Don’t miss that snow, left Michigan many, many, many year ago!

  11. Thank you Gloria! We are in the home stretch now, it’s almost March and the snow will be GONE GONE GONE. (crossing fingers)

Comments are closed.