Oh, Captain Wentworth! A free pattern and sew along

I’ve been working on something fun the last few days for us to sew together ! It is my interpretation of Jane Austen’s famous diamond quilt, pieced by Jane, her mother, and sister.

2009_1024Quiltysecrets1118

There is a wonderful article about the quilt written by quilt historian Barbara Brackman here CLICK

Like many before me, I’m an avid Jane Austen fan, and have read  all of her  books and watched all the PBS films over and over.  My favorite Austen man is Captain Wentworth from Persuasion ….ahhhh so dreamy.  So that’s what I’m calling this quilt.

I’m not finished designing it yet but I wanted to give you a heads up to prepare in case you want to sew along.

Here’s the quilt so far:

cornbread and beans quilting blog 043

It will finish somewhere around 30 x 50, so it will make a nice little wall hanging.  I’m going to add some applique in the center triangle, and finish the pieced border, then I’ll start posting the directions here on the blog.

I cut way to0 many triangles so I will probably offer a few kits if you would like to use the same fabric as I did.

Okay so what do we need?

1. VERY HELPFUL, but not mandatory is the Marti Michell 2 1/2 inch stripper template.

41EqIcfCCiL._SY300_If you don’t have this, and don’t want to purchase this handy dandy tool, you can still use your regular ruler with the 60 degree angle mark, but the tool will make piecing the quilt a lot easier because the template ruler has squared off points that help you line up your triangles.

2.  About 1 and 1/2 yards of white cotton

3. A variety of 2 1/2 inch strips of your color choice cotton prints for center of quilt, and 1 1/2 inch strips for the border.

I hope you’ll join me!

Later gators,

Melissa

4 comments on “Oh, Captain Wentworth! A free pattern and sew along

  1. Mary says:

    That looks beautiful, Melissa. I love your color choices.

  2. Sue says:

    Hi ya, Melissa! This sounds like fun and something I’d love to do. I LOVE Jane Austen and it’s my dream to one day reproduce her quilt :D
    Anyhow. Count me in on this SAL. I don’t have these rulers. So maybe I better check them out to see if I want to use them or go the ‘old-fashioned’ way :D :D

  3. Linda Hoch says:

    Just put Austenland on my Netflix queue … LOVE all her books and the movies made from them. This looks like it would be a fun SAL … I had a BLAST with your signature quilt one a few years ago. Thanks for doing this … now post a picture of your new “wheels” so we can all “drool” … LOL

  4. gayleburton says:

    How big will the finished quilt be? I’ve always hesitated to work with diamonds cuz of the bias edges – hmmmmm….. might get brave here

Comments are closed.