OCW Sew Along

Cornbread and Beans Quilting Blog

I finished the top for our sew along today!!  It isn’t quilted or bound yet, but I will work on that while you guys are cutting your diamonds. I think it turned out rather Spring-y, which I could really use about now. (Grin)

cornbread and beans quilting blog 019

I did have enough color/print diamonds and strips cut for 2 kits.  You will still need to purchase the white fabric and cut the diamonds, strips, binding, and backing from the white yourself. If you would like one, they are $15.00 plus $2.50 for shipping.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 021SOLD OUT

___________________________________________________ Here are your cutting instructions for today!

You’ll need a total of

**76 Colored/Print diamonds

**94 white diamonds

From your various Colored/Print Scraps cut 2 1/2 inch strips. You can stack a few together if you are comfortable, and your rotarty cutter is sharp enough.   I cut diamonds in stacks of 4 strips at a time.

Next take your 2 1/2 inch striper tool labeled S1A and lay it on the end of your strip.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 012

Make your first cut along the right hand side.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 013

Now flip that stack so that the uncut side is on the right and rotary cut on the right again, also cutting off the squared off tips.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 014

You can continue down the length of your strip only  having to make the cut on one side.

If you are using your regular ruler you will lay your strips out and place the 60 degree line along the top of your strips.

002

Make your first cut, and discard that little scrap.

003

Now move your ruler along, keeping the 60 degree line along the top and measuring over 2 1/2 inches, then make your second cut.

004

Keep cutting the rest of your strip using the 2 1/2 inch marker on your ruler and lining up the 60 degree line along the top.

006

Do the same with 2 1/2 inch strips of the White fabric, until you have a pile of 76 colored/print diamonds and 94 white diamonds.

Here I am cutting, and cutting, and cutting….LOL

PicMonkey Collage

Now is a good time to download a Jane Austen novel to listen to while you cut. =)

Once you are done you can lay it out if you would like.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 016

I’ll be back next week with the center diamond and piecing instructions!

Later Gators!

Melissa

3 comments on “OCW Sew Along

  1. Chantal says:

    Thank you Melissa! This is such a pretty quilt to sew a long to. And Jane Austin-ish to boot. I am so excited to be starting this. Thank you for all the work and effort.

  2. gayleburton says:

    I ordered my template from JoAnn Fabrics and they seem to have really SLOW shipping since I’m still waiting for it to arrive. Guess I can get my strips cut now and be ready when it comes. Thanks!

  3. Sue says:

    Oh hi there, Melissa! I’m a little slow to respond, but I’m cutting mine out today. I did order that little tool so I’m ready to put it to good use on a jelly roll! Cuz that’s how I roll! hahahaha
    Thanks for the SAL!!

Comments are closed.