Industrial Chic Bedroom Makeover on a dime.

Here are some details of our bedroom makeover.

Cornbread and Beans quilting 789

I found out that high end Industrial Chic furniture and decor is VERY expensive. But I used some good ole DIY and had some good luck shopping to achieve the look I wanted for much less.

My advice:

1. Shop around in unexpected places (Big mega grocery stores, home improvement stores, etc) And stop back often to check on sales.

2. Build or craft  a replica of  the pricier decor and furniture pieces if you can’t afford them.

3. Look around your house and see what you can revamp.

The locker cart bedside tables were an amazing find.  I saw them on Dot and Bo website where they retail for $400.00 a piece. They were on sale for $249.00. That was still WAY too high for my makeover budget.

IMX0227-120130920-6309-w2ybvtsource

I decided to keep looking around my area to find something I could afford. Low and behold, I kid you not the very same locker carts were at my local Meijer grocery store.  They were marked down 75 % from $200.00 to $50.00.  I think I may have shouted “no way” right in the isle.   I just scored two tables for $100.00 that I could have paid $800.00 for.  Not bad!!

photo 404

___________________________________

I wanted an upholstered headboard and started my search online. I liked this one from Bonanza for $215.00

__kgrhqr__nwfjofpoy4jbsylnkgszg__60_3source

I found the very same one from Walmart online, delivered straight to my door for about $157.00!

__________________________________________________

We also desperately needed some new dressers.  I knew that was going to cost some money, but I wasn’t prepared for just HOW MUCH money.

This dresser , similar to what I wanted, from Wayfair is $977.99! Um, I don’t have 2000.00 to spend on a place to put our underwear.  I wish I did, then my underwear would be fancy enough to deserve 2000.00 worth of dressers. LOL

Agra+6+Drawer+Dressersource

So I started looking up dresser makeovers and looking for dressers from Craigslist and thrift stores to transform.  I was inspired by this wonderful dresser.

7633255147599f77b3789ab1ec684ed1source

Nothing came up.  But I did see a bunch of Ikea Rast Hacks, and decided that was the way to go.

imagessource

Rast’s are the little versatile pine three drawer chests from Ikea that cost 35 buckaroos each.  I bought 4 and about 50 dollars worth of wood and enlisted my Dad aka Bob the Builder  to help me build what I wanted.

We screwed them together, added a base , and a top. I’m getting pretty handy with a miter saw and nail gun these days! =)

PicMonkey Collage2

I stained the body and drawers with Rustoleum wood stain in Driftwood.  The top and the drawer pulls were stained with Minwax Ebony. I used stencils and craft paint to add special numbers (birthdays, anniversaries) to the drawers to mimic my inspiration photo.

Whoala- two dressers for about $200.00!  A savings of $1800.00!

Cornbread and Beans quilting 003

Cornbread and Beans quilting900

_______________________________________

The little decor items can really add up too.  But with some bargain shopping I found some wonderful items in MY price range.

I wanted two architect lamps for the side tables: you could pay $170 dollars each for these from LampsPlus

2P573.fpxsource

or even $30.00 each  for these from Target.

14217288_201310281129source

But I scored mine for $16.00 each at Menard’s home improvement store. Cha-ching! So basically I got two for the price of one!

This industrial gear sculpture can be found online from 42.00- 60.00.

36665-default-l

source

I found mine at Hobby Lobby at 40 % off- totaling $16.00.

photo 303

______________________________________

I wanted a bench or trunk for the end of the bed to put our throw pillows on at night, but haven’t found luck finding what I want yet.  But I did find this old bench in our basement from the previous owners.  Pretty nasty, with cobwebs and old outdoor rung nailed on it:

old basement bench

I ripped the old rug off, stained it and added padding and burlap, it will do for now until I find what I want!

Cornbread and Beans Quilting 017

Hope you find something in this post to inspire a bedroom makeover of your own =)

Later gators,

Melissa

Linking to some part-ays!

Wow Us Wednesdays

The Inspiration Exchange

Funky Junk Interiors

6 comments on “Industrial Chic Bedroom Makeover on a dime.

  1. Brenda says:

    Amazing! You did such a great job… thanks for sharing your journey.

  2. cmandda says:

    So cool! Now, is Bob the Builder available to help me out? I could sure use it!

  3. Okay, that’s just ridiculously great! I adore your DIY dresser. My hat is off to you!

  4. Linda H says:

    My jaw kept dropping onto my keyboard! You are amazing!! Thanks for sharing your journey on this makeover! VERY cool (and beautifully executed)!

  5. […] Industrial Chic Bedroom Makeover by Cornbread and Beans Quilting […]

  6. Lisa says:

    I love your IKEA hack so much, I’m featuring it on my blog this morning. Thanks for sharing! ~Lisa

Comments are closed.