Shasta Switch-a-roo

We  sold and said goodbye to our dear friend the 1961 Shasta compact about a month ago.  Although we loved it, we really out grew it. Our kids always want to sleep in the camper with us.  They are getting much bigger and we just don’t fit.

As soon as it pulled out I was so bummed!!   I’ve hopped on craigslist to look for a replacement everyday since.  Once you’ve had a vintage camper there is really a hole in your heart if you don’t have one. =)

I was having visions of us all sleeping in the tent all summer because it’s really hard to snap one of these babies up!

I hit pay dirt on Monday.  I was the first caller 5 min. after someone posted a 1967 Shasta 1500. I told the man he would get a million replies within an hour so I was coming with cash RIGHT NOW.  We jumped in the car and took an 8 hour drive and bought it!!!  He said that about 10 people were willing to snap it up right after I replied. Shewww.

We’ve lost a lot of the cute factor, but the functionality is AWESOME.  I’ve never had a fridge before. hehehe  And we can make it super cute with a new paint job and some new Shasta wings.

Here are the before pic’s of our new summer home project:

stuff 058

I can’t believe how roomy it feels compared to the c0mpact, even though it’s only 1 foot longer.

Front dinette converts to twin bed.

stuff 060

The little kitchen with cute princess stove

stuff 063

The rear couch that converts to a full sized bed and the overhead full sized bunk.

stuff 066

Maybe most importantly, the fridge!! and little pantry/utility closet.

stuff 068

You know I am itching to sew up new curtains, upholster the cushions, and start decorating!!

After pic’s as soon as I get going. =)

Later gators,

Melissa

8 comments on “Shasta Switch-a-roo

  1. Rita says:

    Never known someone who loved vintage campers. We always bought the new ones but don’t camp anymore. Can’t wait to see the after pics. Have fun!

  2. Brenda says:

    Too cute!!!

  3. Mother Hen says:

    I’m sure you’ll have a blast fixing it up!

  4. Connie Jerrell says:

    I can remember when we had one just like this …years ago, when our kids were just little. We had many fun camping trips in about every State park in Michigan. I know you will make it look wonderful, Melissa…look forward to pictures. Enjoy!

  5. Linda H says:

    VERY fun and I know you will make it ADORABLE!! Can’t wait to see what you come up with … enjoy!

  6. Teri Maisner says:

    so excited for you!!! I drove by your house the other day and saw the camper in the side yard… I thought well they either got a new one or there is going to be a Jamboree this weekend!!! LOL Can’t wait to see it with you special touches on it! :)

  7. Mary says:

    I know you will work your maginc on this one too. Glad you have a new project.

  8. plmdezigns says:

    Congrats on your new summer project! What a great find! Lucky you to see it first and snap it up! I know that you will make it “sew” cute! Kind Regards, Pam Wisconsin

    Sent from my iPhone

Comments are closed.