Call Me Crazy

I know most people try to eek out the last few weeks of summer, not I. I plunge head first, full force into fall about the 2nd week in August. I creep down to the basement where waiting for me are my old friends the “Fall Boxes.”  They are full of all the delicious colors of Autumn…rusts, burnt sienas, golds, chocolates, caramels YUMMMM. They hold my grungy pumpkin men, scary witches, black cats, and harvest delights. I love decorating for fall almost as much as Christmas, and as I start doing Christmas right after Halloween I MUST start early for fall so I can enjoy it! =) 

One of the first quilts I ever made.

One of the first quilts I ever made.

Hutch made for me by my Dad filled with Autumn.

Hutch made for me by my Dad filled with Autumn.

 

Close up to the flora and fauna.

Close up to the flora and fauna.

I love Whimiscals...this is one of many I have made of their patterns.

I am finding a peculiar thing as I poke around placing my treasures. We moved from a huge house to a much smaller town house this past spring. There were many more rooms at our old abode, and I always managed to fill each of them up with fall stuff.  I don’t know what is going on, as I am sure there is some sort of physic’s law that says smaller places hold less things….but I really feel like I don’t have enough decorations!! Oh well I guess I will have to go shopping…darn! heheh

One of my favorite pumpkin guys.

One of my favorite pumpkin guys.

 

ahhhhh fall

ahhhhh fall

I had so many fall quilts kits and patterns sitting around in my sewing room, I had to choose just a couple to work on and finish for this years fall season.  This little pumpkin fella I finished in two days…now comes the part I hate..the binding. And he will be ready to hang up.
Pattern by Jan Patek

Pattern by Jan Patek

 This quilt I finished last year, and the machine quilter got it back to me months ago. I finally put the binding on it last month.  If you are gathering that I hate doing the binding ….you would be correct!

The crazy quilt stiching on this one took forever!

The crazy quilt stiching on this one took forever!

Here is a panel quilt from Thimbleberries that I am almost done quilting, and a nice shot of my messing sewing room….hey you can’t quilt without making a mess, am I right?
Almost done! shewwww

Almost done! shewwww

Well off to sew…maybe I can get a few more simple fall quilts done before I drag out the christmas/winter fabric!
4 comments on “Call Me Crazy

  1. Colleen says:

    Hello! I love your site! You have some great pictures and cute stories :o) You visited my blog and left me such a nice comment, but you have your e-mail listed as “no reply” so I wasn’t able to comment back to you. Since you are newer, if you aren’t sure how to do this, you can e-mail me and I will walk you through it. Good luck in bloggy land! And yes, tha Cheri Saffiote book is on my 3-mile high stack too! I was laughing when I read that. That is the best way to put it!

  2. Colleen says:

    I LOVE Whimsicals… have all the books! Haven’t completed a project yet but am getting close with a few! And I love your pumpkin table topper. The colors are PERFECT. Have you ever heard of Primitive Gatherings out of Wisconsin? Hit their web site if you haven’t. They have GORGEOUS stuff!

  3. cornbreadandbeansquilting says:

    Hi Colleen! Thanks for the nice words about my ” stuff.” I will head over to Primitive Gatherings right now!

  4. Cindy says:

    I love your fall decorations and all your quilts/wall-hangings. I love Whimisicals also. Have a few of their books, but would love to have them all. Just purchased some fabric to make a purse and a wall-hanging from the Journey’s book. Wish you all the best on your blogging journey! I started blogging in April and have met some of the must wonderful ladies. I’ll be back to visit.
    Cindy

Comments are closed.