Labor Day Ramblings.

Here comes fall!

Here comes fall!

 

Happy Labor Day! Well it’s the last day for all of us to be sleepy heads and sleep in. School starts tomorrow, yikers. So I plan to spend the rest of this evening cleaning up, organizing and preparing for the school year.  The backpacks are filled with new school supplies and the girls “first day of school” outfits are hanging up.  Unfortunately the house is kind of a wreck. What? I have been quilting, I can’t do it all ya know. LOL

 

Here is the progress I have made on the turkey quilt.  Ihope to have it finished tonight or tomorrow depending on how big of a slacker I am getting the house picked up.

Two more big stars to baste.

Half square triangles all sewed up!

Half square triangles all sewed up!

Turkeys have their heads now, and their stars are basted and ready to go.

Turkeys have their heads now, and their stars are basted and ready to go.

Super fast easy quilt project.

Super fast easy quilt project.

 

I like to change out the quilts that are hanging on ladders around my house. I thought I would share the one I just put on one of my ladders, because it is really super duper easy and you don’t need a pattern to make it! I thought it would look primy =) Just cut up squares of fabrics you like and sew together. Layer the backing batting and top, but instead of doing time consuming quilting, just sew buttons in the block corners and woila you are done!
 
I would like to introduce you to my new best friend. The BG bought him for me for my Birthday/Anniversary.
My new best buddie.

My new best buddie.

 

It was our 10th anniversay this August 1st! And maybe some girls want diamonds, but I just wanted a new sewing machine!!!  I really can’t believe how many quilts I sewed on my old cheapie machine. I had no idea what good sewing was LOL. This little sugar has so many cool features that my old machine didn’t. I think my favorite is the automatic thread cutter!! Sweeet.  So anyway, the reason I bring this up is that I can’t think of a good name for him. Mom suggested that I  call him “Baby,” and while that’s catchy, I think it’s a bit too obvious being that he is a baby lock.  So I will let ya know when I come up with an appropriate name. I guess we just need to spend more time together, it will hit me.

And lastly I leave you with this:
FABULOUS NOTIONABLES #3
My boss Ruth showed me this a few weeks ago and I just had to have one. It is a newer ruler  by Quilt In A Day. It’s a half square triangle ruler.  You use it to trim your half square triangles before you press them open, ensuring the perfect square! It’s pretty nifty. I hated squaring up half square triangles, turning them this way and that.  You just place the appropriate line on the ruler directly over the stitched line and trim off the excess. In this picture I am making 2 1/2 inch finished squares.
Quilt In A Day ruler.

Quilt In A Day ruler.

You know I was even thinking today that you could just sew two long pieces of fabric together and use this ruler to make half square triagles out of them. Probably wastes some fabric, but you wouldn’t have to mess with bias edged triangles?? Don’t know, but I might play around with it someday if I have a million to make.
Later gators! Melissa
