Rainy days are the best days for quilting.

It is a rainy day here in Battle Creek, Michigan. I suspect it is probably rainy in many parts of the country as the crazy hurricane weather makes its mark on us all. My prayers go out to all the families effected by the hurricanes.  Rainy days make me want to stay in my p.j.’s all day and read or sew, or both, with a nap thrown in for good measure! So that is what I am planning to do.

I also need to do some research some time this weekend for the novel writing thingy I am doing in November. I have been slowly outlining a plot in my mind in bed before I fall asleep.  I want to have the setting in Scotland because I have dreamed and wished and …dare I say it…yes I must, LUSTED over traveling there. So far I have only gotten as far as looking at plane tickets and begging The BG to take me there.  I can visit it in my novel though can’t I? LOL  So I need to find a good rural town and read up on it on the net sometime this weekend so I don’t waste time durning November looking stuff up, when I am supposed to be furiously typing 50,000 words.

 

 

I have decided that I am going to work on this project today:

Whimsicals pattern

Whimsicals pattern

 

I have had all the stuff for this sitting in a bag for months.  Whimsicals has already put out 2 more books and a bunch of patterns since then.  I was going to make it up in a kit for the shop, but life happened instead. LOL   So I am going to work on it and hopefully kit it up anyway. I’ll keep you posted of the progress I only have one block done so far.

 

Here is a snap of a sample quilt top I recently finished for the shop. It’s a christmas quilt and the pattern is called Peppermint Twist. If ya really want one there are two kits made up. Shoot Ruth an email and I am sure she would send you one. Ruth@Quiltngo.Com <ruth@quiltngo.com>

Peppermint Twist kit I finished up recently.

Peppermint Twist kit I finished up recently.

Alrighty I better go sew or I will blog alllll day =)

Later Gators, Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

2 comments on “Rainy days are the best days for quilting.

  1. Megan says:

    Ah, Scotland. What I wouldn’t give to go there. Though I’d probably spend all my time there staring moony-eyed at every guy who employed his lovely accent in my vicinity.

    So (I’m sure you’ve posted on this before) just what is this novel writing thingy? I’ll be dying to read about it after the fact – I could use some inspiration. I’ve had a novel in my head for probably 10 years (and I think of tidbits for it all the time) but that is even scarier to me than learning to sew.

  2. Sara says:

    Scotland, I would love to go there too! But then I would love to go anywhere that is not Ohio! LOL! Doesn’t it rain there alot too??

    I love the Peppermint Twist! It is awesome!

    Oh yeah, since your a Jane Austen fan, What is Mansfield Park about?? LOL! I will never get it read! You should come join our book club! LOL!

Comments are closed.