Coin Purse Tutorial

The Easy Shmeasy Coin Purse

You Will Need:

Fabric Scraps

Heavy Duty Fusible Interfacing

Coordinating Thread

Snaps

Optional Labels using this tutorial

http://sewtakeahike.typepad.com/sewtakeahike/2008/08/label-tutorial.html

1.First cut your Lining and Outer fabric  at 5 x 9.

2.Then cut 2 pieces of  fusible interfacing at 5 x 9.

3.Iron the fusible interfacing to wrong sides of both pieces of fabric.

4. Pin right sides together (I actually don’t pin, but you may want to) and mark a curve on the corner at one end.

5. Fold in half and cut off the curved edge.

6. Sew around the outside using a ¼ inch seam allowance.

Make sure to leave an opening on the bottom for turning and placing your tag.

7. Turn the coin purse inside out and press. Slip your tag into the opening with the words showing toward the lining fabric. Top stitch the opening closed making sure to catch your tag in the seam.

8. Now turn your project with the outside of the wallet facing up and the lining facing down. Flip your tag so the words are now showing at the outer fabric and topstitch around all sides using a ¼ inch seam allowance. Again make sure to catch your tag so it stays flat.

9. Fold the coin purse in 3rds and press. Attach snaps. Stitch on the left and right sides over your previous ¼ inch seams to make the “purse” part.

10. Enjoy it yourself or give it away!!

9 comments on “Coin Purse Tutorial

  1. Megan says:

    I LOVE you for making this tute! I’ve been scouring the net looking for this very thing so I can make little wallets to go with the bags I’m making for Christmas. I particularly like the curved edge on the flap. Awesome!

  2. Sara says:

    I love this little coin purse. That is actually probably just what I am looking for – I don’t carry a purse so I need something for my license and ATM card + cash when I have it! I am defniately making those with my other christmas presents. And my boy T is a Christmas elf also! How cool!

  3. Thanks for posting this tutorial. I’m going to give it a try very soon! I have a phobia for sewing things related to purses whether it’s the purse/bag itself or items like coin purses, wallets, chequebook covers …..

  4. Very cute Melissa! I need a new little purse! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Well done, I’m going to have my 9 year old neice look at this. I think she will love it. She has just started using the machine and is looking for simple projects. thank you

  6. Dawn says:

    Great tutorial..I will be making a few of these that’s for sure!

  7. Nanette says:

    Oh wow how cute!!! I know what work tutorials are. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Tracey says:

    Very cute and well written tutorial. That’s something I can easily make for Christmas Gifts. Thanks for the tutorial. You just made Christmas a little easier.

  9. Melissa says:

    Me and my daughter who is 12 is making this right now….she is doing it all by herself…..
    Thanks for the directions…..

Comments are closed.