Lame Mom

 

Okay so I always thought I would be the kind of Mom that HANDMADE Halloween costumes for her children.  I mean I have been Halloween costume sewing crazy for myself and my husband, and sometimes even for my brother and his wife.  We spent 100’s of dollars on different fabrics and wigs for every Halloween.  The BG and I have been a pirate and a mermaid, adam and eve, a geisha girl and a samurai, a colonial couple, Scooby Doo characters, dorthy and the scarecrow, and on and on.  I even have won costume contests 3 TIMES!!! 

But since we adopted the kids, this will be our 2nd Halloween together, and it just seems to sneak up on me too fast!!! HOW LAME am I??? I didn’t sew anything or even PLAN anything!!! So last night I went out and bought (for shame, for shame) costumes for my kid-letts. So I am making a vow to myself TODAY that next year my kids will have HOMEMADE costumes even if I have to lock myself in my sewing room for 80 hours to do it!!   Okay self bashing over now.

I made an apple pie last night and as I posted earlier, I am going to share the recipe. Now first of all my baking/cooking skills would be laughable to any serious chefs out there so please take this as it is, a really  quick easy pie to make that is absolutely dee-lish. It’s for chicks who play on the minor league team in the kitchen if you catch my drift! =)

Preheat oven to 375

Apple mixture:

combine in a bowl,

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 Tbl. fresh squeezed lemon juice

2 Tbl. flour

2 Tbl. Cinnamon (yep I put in alot, but thats what makes it good!)

As many apples as you need to fill the pie crust. (our apples were very small so I think I used like 10 or so)

I think that tart apples taste the best in this recipe so granny smith or ida reds are great!

 

After you mix this all up you dump it into a pie crust. I use the premade pillsbury pie crust!  If you play in the major leagues and make crust from scratch , you are on your own for that =)

Crumble Top mixture:

combine in a bowl

1 cup flour

1 cup of chopped pecans or walnuts (optional, but it really is soooo good with nutts)

1/3 cup white sugar

1/3 brown sugar

6 Tbl. of butter cubed.

A pinch of Cinnamon.

mush this all up with a wooden spoon until the mixture is crumbly, then spoon on the top of the apples that are already in the pie crust.

Bake at 375 for 1 hour.

ENJOY!!

I have been working on the blocks for the sassafras quilt top. I have a few more block to go then I can sew em up, and put the applique bits on. Shewww almost there =)

Gotta run I think I smell dinner burning =)~

Later Gators, Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

3 comments on “Lame Mom

  1. Awww, you aren’t a lame mom at all. Hugs and kisses, reading a book together, and even just chatting are way more important than a home-made costume. They’ll remember the other stuff a lot more.

    BTW, sounds like you cook like I do. DH says I put it on the stove and sit down until the smoke alarm goes off and that signals dinner is ready. haha Could be worse, could be Mc…. every night.

  2. Em says:

    I used to sew costumes when my boys were little and now my poor darling daughter gets to pick from those (superman cape, vanpire cape, power ranger, dargon,etc.) or we have to get creative. So I know how you feel. I really should make a princess dress or something she would love.

  3. They’ve got the costumes, that’s all the matters at this point. Hope dinner didn’t burn, what was for dinner anyway?? Looking forward to seeing your progress on the Sassafrass pattern. Cheers, QGB

Comments are closed.