Happy Halloween! (updated)

Can you feel the spookiness in the air? Or is that just the the foreshadowing of all the sugar highs our children will soon have? Either way I hope you all have a safe and happy day today!  It has to be one of the best days of the year for kids.  To be able to dress up as someone or something else, prance through the neighborhood in the DARK, collecting CANDY from generous neighbors, and SCARING yourself silly, is really just tooooo FUN. I hope my kid-letts are gathering as many great memories as I have from my own childhood.

 I will be heading to the girls’ school this afternoon to help them put their costumes on, and watch the  costume parade. I will be sure to post pictures tonight or tomorrow.

 

Okay I am back from the school. Twas a tad hectic trying to get both girls ready. Minates’ class was participating in the costume parade, but Patiences’ class had a special and therefore only had time for a party.  So I hurried and got Minate ready:

 Then I had to run downstairs to get Patience ready while trying not to miss the parade!!!

Ran out to catch the parade and snap some shots and some parent had a cute dog:

Then ran back and to patience party:

 

On a totally unrelated note:

The big voting day is coming up. While I strongly have rejected the urge to post anything political on my happy quilt blog, I can’t help but spend alot of time thinking about election day and share the enormous voting dilemma I am going through this election.

In my house even the smallest local election gets stressful.  If you were a fly on the wall durning any election you would be privy to MANY an animated argument, I mean discussion. You see we have a house divided, politically speaking. Much like the early career of the esteemed candidate Barak Obama,  my husband is a neighborhood organizer for the city of Battle Creek, and is very much a liberal thinker and voter.  I ,completely at the other end of the spectrum, am a very conservative thinker and voter. You can see how that might lend itself to some heated talks throughout our marriage.  I knew I was in for this. When I met my husband he was sill a student at the University of Michigan, and he was spending his undergraduate career working with prisoners in Detroit. Bleeding heart liberal that boy is!!!

In many ways it’s nice to have someone you love so much view the running of our government so differently than you do, because it forces you to check your facts and explore your belief systems so much deeper in order to defend them. If everyone thinks just like you do, then you would never have to question if what you were thinking was right.

My problem this election is this:  After watching the campaigns,conventions, and debates it is very clear to me I won’t be voting for the Republican candidate this year. But can I, in good conscience,  vote for someone that is such a liberal thinker on moral issues that are the cornerstone of my Christian upbringing?

I would love to see the candidates be able to represent their true beliefs on issues without having to please the politcal parties that are backing them.  I wonder what Barak Obama would say on some of these issues if he didn’t have to to please or need the money machine that is the Democratic Party . I have a feeling it would be alot easier to vote for him.

In any case, and whoever wins, lets say a collective prayer for our nation. And don’t forget to VOTE! =)

Later Gators,

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “Happy Halloween! (updated)

  1. Em says:

    Some very good food for thought.
    Can’t wait to see what you came up with for costumes. Have a Happy Halloween.

  2. Kim says:

    Hi Melissa! I was just googling quilters in Michigan and found you 🙂 We lived in southern Michigan for almost 20 years before moving a little farther south. Like all the way to Argentina 🙂
    Life’s been pretty crazy the past year and I haven’t had as much time as I’d like for quilting, but am looking forward to getting back to it soon. For the first time ever I’m actually going to have a sewing room!
    I brought my sewing machine in my carry-on because I didn’t want to do without it the month or more before our container arrived. And I didn’t trust the baggage carriers enough to put it in the check through luggage. So I lugged it through the Detroit, the Miami and finally the Buenos Aires airports over a trip that ended up taking over 30 hours (LOOOONG layovers!).
    Before I can get back to quilting I have to make a LOT of curtains for the house we are renting. But I keep getting out some of my UFOs and just looking at them, promising myself that it won’t be MUCH LONGER!!
    Anyway, enjoyed stopping by your blog and I’ll be back.

  3. Nanette says:

    Halloween is a crazy day for moms. I’m always glad when it is over. But it is fun.

  4. Sara says:

    What great pictures of the girls! I miss those days with the boys. We didn’t dress up this year since we are in the big JR High. And they were at their mom’s for trick or treat so I don’t even know if they went!

    I agree with your thoughts on the election (mostly!). I wonder what the canidates really think about some of the issues out there! And whoever wins will be running our country, so it is a huge decision. Good Luck with your decision. I think I have decided and am ready to vote.

Comments are closed.