heading to mommy’s

I am heading out to go to my Moma’s house bright and early in the morning. We are resurrecting part of the “stitch and bitch club” for the weekend.

My cousin Amy offered to make 7 lap quilts out of someone’s clothing  who passed away for a family. I am not sure of the details on who died, or who the quilts are for, but I will get the skinny when I get there. Soooo being the AWESOME cousin I am, I am going to help her, my Auntie Judy, and Mom make ’em.

Okay so it’s really not that selfless of a task BECAUSE, I get to get huggs and kisses from Mom and Dad.  I get to sit in their cozy chairs and watch movies with Dad, while he makes me popcorn and brings me pop and candy. One of the best parts of weekends at my Mom’s (besides all of the visiting)  is my Dad’s breakfasts. He makes the HUGEST breakfasts. Sounding like you wanna come too?

Us girls do  ALOT  of laughing and chatting and a little bit of sewing.  Here is a shot of a quilt weekend at Mom’s from August this year.

Aren’t they so cute? I just love them to bits.

Aunt Judy, Mom, Me

Aunt Judy, Mom, Me

Actually I was just looking at the pictures of this particular quilt weekend and Mom was super productive, wonder what Aunt Judy and I were doing?? Maybe sitting at the pool dinking cocktails instead of sewing? LOL These are the quilts Mom finished that weekend.  I hope Mom doesn’t mind me putting pictures of the basement where we quilt in my blog. They have a really beautiful home, but the basement is Dad’s domain. DvD’s, big T.V.’s, and “boy” furniture. I’ll get some shots of the Girl part of the house this weekend (giggle.)

Buggy Barn Baskets she made as a gift for someone from their church.

summer-08-065

Laps from Fats Tea Time quilt for her living room.

summer-08-064

A little table topper made from blocks she had sitting in a box for about 10 years. I told her to make something out of them already!! She gave it to my sister-in-law.

 

summer-08-062

And she laid out some 30’s blocks.

summer-08-063

Here is my poppa:

fall-and-winter-2007-122

 

And here is my cousin Amy:

fall-and-winter-2007-069

 

Later Gators! Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

7 comments on “heading to mommy’s

  1. Colleen says:

    What a beautiful family! And your mom was VERY productive! Love the basket quilt! Have a wonderful, relaxing, happy weekend :o)

  2. Kathi says:

    I’m the first generation of quilters in my family with my 13 year old now beginning to join in. You’re very lucky. Enjoy!!

  3. Cara says:

    That is way cool to have your mom to quilt with! Her quilts are beautiful! Have a fun weekend- can’t wait to see what you all accomplish

  4. I know you’ll have a great weekend Melissa! Looking forward to seeing all the pics of what y’all accomplish!

  5. Cindy says:

    Melissa,
    Hope you are having a great weekend!!
    I have a question for you…My blog is a on wordpress also and I have photos of items I made on my sidebar using Flickr, but what I was wondering is how did you get your blog awards and the cute snowman graphic on your sidebar? I can put them up through Flickr but it then takes away two of my photos as only 10 can show at a time without clicking on the more photos, which then takes you to Flickr. I want my blog awards to show also, but wasn’t sure if there is another way to do it besides Flickr. Can you help me?
    Cindy

  6. valerie says:

    I hope you have a wonderful time with your family. I can’t wait to see the pics and hear all about it.

  7. sharon says:

    Hope your having fun at your mommas. Your aunt looks like alot of fun. Cute photo of you and your dad.

Comments are closed.