For the love of all things book. (in which 10 great books get listed)

I love books. I’ve said this many times. I love the feel of a new book, the sound of cracking it open, the smell of the pages. Ahhhh books how I love thee!

I have worked in 3 different books stores. But unlike working at a quilt shop where working with fabric isn’t work…working with books is.

I used to want to be a librarian, but now that I just want to stay home and quilt all the time, I just appreciate visiting the library instead of wanting to work there.

In every city I have lived in, one of my first stops is the town library to sign up and get my library card. I have been the patron of tiny libraries like the one in the town where I grew up.  The Stockbridge library was about 800 square feet. Mrs. Asquith was our towns’ librarian. She was an antique =)  She was just the sort of librarian you would picture from long ago times, hair in a bun, glasses, and she always had on a dress with sensible shoes. My mom, who shared her love of reading with my brother and I by reading to us constantly, took me to the library about once a week.  I loved checking out the kids crafty books and cutting up everything in sight and gluing it back together!  I’m pretty sure we didn’t have a library card back then, there were no computers. I think everything was just written down, and filed. Can you imagine?

I have also had the privilege of being the patron of HUGE libraries like the one at the University I attended and the library in Ann Arbor, MI.  These libraries afforded quite a bit of autonomy. You could check out any sort of book you wanted without fear of judgement =)  No one ever called you by name, but OOOHHH the books you could find!

There have been quite a few libraries in between, but now I am a patron of Willard Library in downtown Battle Creek.  It is a very nice library, a sort of in between huge and tiny library. It has two floors with plenty of reading material to keep me busy for life. They DO know my name there and we DO have a library card. Everything is computer catalogued.  I do miss the old card catalogs don’t you?

I thought I would share some good reads with you either to give as gifts this holiday season, or to just pick up for yourself and cuddle down this winter with a quilt, a book,  and a cup of joe.

Here are some of my favorites (mostly excluding the classics because you should have already read those or have them on your list to read LOL) :

1. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

   ( a MUST read!!)

51xruzh8pql__sl500_aa240_

 

2. Nude Men by Amanda Filipacchi

(probably one of the most neurotic main characters EVER!!)

717wbh20v6l__sl500_aa240_1

 

3. A Room With a View by E.M Forster

    (also my favorite movie of all time)

51p1xyb3xsl__sl500_aa240_

 

3. Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven by Fannie Flagg

 (hilarious!!)

  n157596

   

4. Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

   (touching novel with beautiful prose)

51ags2cvvxl__bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_1

 

5. The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

    (oh this book is delicious!!! you will want to read the rest of the series so order them all )

books1

6. The Heronines by Eileen Favorite

   (a tasty book about classical fiction characters who visit a mother and her daughter’s inn)

41wbjcefitl__sl500_aa240_1

7.  Outlander (series) by Diana Gabaldon

   ( it has to be added to your library, men in kilts!!!  nuff said hehehe)

9242990

8.  A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Husseini

51eljuzfsyl__sl500_aa240_

 

9. The Very Persisten Gappers of Frip by George Saunders.

  (okay so it’s a kids book, but it is clever and witty and wonderful!)

3517707

 

10. The Crimes of Charlotte Bronte by James Tully

0ap43ncafv840jcaokndrqcaswddz6cagen8uwca72cwmjcazrv76scao9paf0ca6ji76lcavwz92hcaufexkucaedw9zjca09162ccalfqk5kcamorlzucawdzljoca7mvhs2camx0c3ucaqkpgcu

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “For the love of all things book. (in which 10 great books get listed)

  1. Libby says:

    I love the library, too. We had a darling little Carnagie library in my hometown. The children’s books were in the basement (a novelty in southern Calif *s*)When I read A Tree Grows In Brooklyn, I wanted to be like Francie and read every book, in order – but was soon defeated by material way above my head.
    I do so miss those card catalogs. What kid didn’t think it was fun to flip through card after card looking for just the right entry. Still, I must admit I love being able to search my local library’s online catalog and even place a book on hold right from the comfort of home and in my jammies *s*

  2. Sara says:

    I love, love, love the library. I am always there! Here in our small town I know the librarians, and most of the patrons too! But I still love it!
    I have only read two of the books you listed and will definately be checking out the rest of them. Thanks for the great suggestions!
    Have a very Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Kim says:

    Oh where do I start?! My first “job” was as a librarian’s helper. I was in fifth grade and applied for the position by checking out (of course!) a book on how to write a resume 🙂 Bless my mom’s heart, she kept that very first resume in a scrapbook for me. No access to a typewriter back then so I wrote longhand in my neatest penmanship but on typing paper so my sentences slanted uphill 🙂 I pasted a school picture in the corner, just like the book said!

    Like you, the library is one of the first stops when I move. Sadly I’m living in a South American city that doesn’t value its library. Beautiful building and the books mostly 100 years old. I AM NOT exaggerating! They had one tiny little bookshelf with “new” books dating from the past 20-30 years 😦 How SAD!!!

    But I brought my own library of sorts. I got rid of 800 books but brought almost 700 with me. And have already had my daughter send 3 more 🙂 I can see totally busting my budget on P/H for books.

    I bought an old library card cabinet on craigslist but couldn’t bring it so bequeathed it to my daughter. I had thought it would make a great craft center for bits and pieces of things. *sigh* At least I have visiting rights to it.

    Have you ever heard of delicious library? My son bought the software for me. I was able to catalog my entire library of books, movies (and soon I’ll add my CDs) in a matter of hours. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this program!

    Thanks for a great post and book recommendations. I’m making a list for my kids to keep an eye out for as they hit library book sales, used book stores (our entire family loves to visit those!), and rummage sales. I brought one of Fannie Flagg’s books that I hadn’t had a chance to read yet, but I won’t be able to unpack those boxes until we get some bookshelves built.

  4. Mel says:

    Hey Melissa!
    I just finished the Time Traveler’s Wife and LOVED it!! I was SOO pleased to see that The Outlander was on your list! I am a HUGE Diana Gabaldon fan and am reading the entire series for the third time!

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

Comments are closed.