making plans

wpandalusiansw

As I caught up on blog reading yesterday, I noticed all of you ladies making  massive, wonderful plans for the brand new year. You are an ambitious lot I must say! I am sending you all productive brain waves and good wishes =) ! I am not one to make New Year’s resolutions in list form or a grand plan of action,  I am just too random for that.  I will just set some goals to join in.  I want to find more humor in all the little frustrating things in life (like husbands, and raising kids.)  I want to find a church and go to it.  I want to make a bunch of quilts I love!!

I also clued in to all the cool beginning of the year stuff going on too!

Like Rachel’s Calander Quilt Challenge! (click the link on my sidebar if you wanna check it out)  Wooo hooo! This is going to be so fun. I have never done anything like this before. You choose a strip of fabric from your stash, your scrap bin, or a new purchase if you want, to represent each day of the year. You then sew those strips into verticle rows slap some sashing and borders on and you have a calander quilt!!  It will be so interesting to see what fabrics and moods you go through in a year.  She even set up a blog for us to share with eachother through the year. COOOOL!

calendar3x2button1

And I am sure you have all seen this by now, but isn’t this Free BOM from Bunny Hill Designs awesome! (click link in my sidebar if you wanna visit)

little-basket-in-a-frame_side_bar3

I did her Pumpkin Hill BoM  2 years ago and just got it quilted this fall. I blogged about it here: https://cornbreadandbeansquilting.wordpress.com/2008/09/28/binding-day/

And I also have the pattern and fabric for her Rabbits Prefer Chocolate:rabbits

 

It would be so nice to have that done for this Easter.  I pulled it out and started tracing the applique pieces. Maybe…..

TIP FOR BEGINNERS WORKING WITH RIC RAC

OH……MY…….GOSH!!  I started quilting the pink Valentine quilt with all the bits and ric rac yesterday.  It was SUCH a pain.  If you are going to add ric rac to your quilt, do it AFTER you quilt it. I thought I was going to cry!!  I kept catching the edges of the ric rac while meandering in the squares. Then I would have the ric rac sewed TO MY meandering foot! Argggg. Needless to say I didn’t finish it, I needed a break. Hehehe.

Later! Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

One comment on “making plans

  1. Sharon says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your bunny quilt. That is wonderful. I too and going to be making that basket quilt. How nice huh? And it’s free. Cant beat that.
    Hugs

Comments are closed.