this and that Sunday

yellow

 

Hi guys!

I spent a little time in my sewing room yesterday and today working on projects for work and a little for myself.

I finished my employee blocks-of-the-month through March. This year I am doing two: 30’s reproduction, and Whimsicals.  I will post pic’s of a couple later.  I also am teaching an Amy Butler Nappy Bag  class in February so I needed to get that baby done and in the shop!!

kldkjfldj-009

Here are the outer and lining fabrics I am using:

kldkjfldj-0101

 

Last night I finished quilting the valentine wall hanging, bound it, and hung it up! It is a little too bright and pink for my living room, hmmm maybe I should tea stain it?? Wonder how that would look?

kldkjfldj-015

 

Last week at work I spotted a new book that a co-worker, Penny,  had our boss Ruth order for her, and you KNOW I had to have it too!! That’s how it works around there. Someone gets some new pattern or book and we all have to have it too = )~   It’s called Yesterday’s Charm by Jo Morton.

kldkjfldj-002

It has the most awesome civil war reproduction quilts in it. I want to make every single one!!

projilike

Aren’t they cool??

Here is the one I am starting with:

kldkjfldj-006

And here are some of the fabrics I picked out to do it:

kldkjfldj-007

 

I also remembered another heart quilt that I had started. It was all folded up in my TOPS box.  It’s Buggy Barn Heart Crazies.  It just needs borders and quilting and I can have it out for Valentines season.  Any volunteers to finish it up for me?  Hey I already did most of it, come on!! hehehe

kldkjfldj-012

 

Ahhh, so many quilts so little time.

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

7 comments on “this and that Sunday

  1. Colleen says:

    What beautiful projects! That book definitely looks great.. a must have :o)

  2. rachel says:

    love the green fabrics.
    😀

    i think that your valentine wall quilt is super cute. the tea dying will knock it down a few notches though.

    okay ummm i NEED that book now!!!
    seriously.
    i LOVE the one called ‘chocolate mint’…i mean how freakin’ cute is that???

    and your buggy barn heart quilt is SUPER cute…love it.

  3. Sharon says:

    Love all the photos. Your little Valentine quilt is very cute. I love it.
    The Jo quilt your going to make, I’ll have it on my blog later tonight. Go see. It was made at a quilt shop I visited here in Indiana. Love the bag your teaching too. You’ve been busy.

  4. Hey! I made the heart crazies quilt in yellow. I think it is on my side bar. I’ve been wishing over the Jo Morton book. I just love the photos. Sounds like you’ve been busy. I just sent the last little chick back to college so maybe I’ll get some sewing time this week.

  5. I love tea staining or overdying to lessen the brightness of a quilt. I say go for it.

    Also, please share some of your energy. You get soooo
    much done!

  6. Cindy says:

    Melissa,
    That book does look like a must have. I just might have to make a trip down to the quilt shop in town to see if they have it.
    Your heart quilt is really cute. Great purse too! The one things I miss the most from working in the quilt shop is teaching classes. Hope everyone has a great time making their purses.
    Can’t wait to see what you make next.
    Cindy

  7. Cara says:

    Love your pink hearts quilt! Can’t wait to see the finished Jo Morton quilt- her quilts are awesome!

Comments are closed.