show me your crafty space

1aaaaaavalentine005

 

Sew….I’ve been thinking…..I want a sewing room make-over BAD!!   A cozy, inspiring, adorable, lovely place to while away the hours creating.

I loved my old sewing room it was HUGE and I had spent time making it my own space. My sewing room, as it is now, is just plain ugly! It has white walls (as does the rest of the townhouse out of pure resistance to painting it back when we leave,) poor storage, poor organization, and poor lighting.

I was looking at pic’s on the internet. Look at these awesome spaces:

sewroom-1

 

sewroom-2

And this room makes we weep with joy:

aob0j8

So I am going to start this week making my sewing room cute too =)

Do you have any ideas to share with me? I’d love to hear from you or even better yet SEE PICTURES!!

Later! Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

12 comments on “show me your crafty space

  1. rachel says:

    happy zombie {monica} has the best room!!!
    {she’s on my blog roll.}
    i mean like i wanna replicate her room in MY house!!!

  2. Stefanie says:

    Hi Melissa!

    I caught you online again! Hmmmm…funny that you should mention sewing room makeovers. I will be moving in February and for the first time EVER, I will have my own sewing room! I am so excited that I could scream…..all of the rooms that you posted about are on my WISH LIST. However, I am not familiar with the first photo that you showed. Where did you find it?

    Right now the only thing that I have is the Cubby shelves from Ikea. I have one cubby for each color of fabric and I have several cubbies that I use for my endless magazine collection.

    Please share the ideas that you receive with all of us dreamers!

  3. Priscilla says:

    here are 3 links to my flickr photos with mosaics of rooms I would LOVE!
    great room inspiration 1
    craft room inspiration 1
    craft room inspiration 2

    at present I don’t even have a room to sew in, my sewing room was taken over by computers! I have to use the dining room table now…I keep telling the kids I’m waiting for one of them to move out so I can have their room lol, but I don’t really mean it, I want them to stay as long as possible!

  4. Jo says:

    I have a suggestion to get rid of the white walls and add a splash of colour! Get some blank canvases and cover them in your favourite fabric! If you use your favourites it will inspire you and make the white walls less noticeable.

  5. Nanette says:

    I see Monica’s room in there. Her’s is awesome. I love my sewing room. I don’t know what I ‘d do without it. I’m sure you will make a great space.

  6. Shelly says:

    You can see my sewing room on my blog today. Funny you should mention seeing sewing rooms. Yours is only about the 3rd one I’ve read asking to see others rooms.

  7. valerie says:

    I had to give up my sewing room because of lack of space once children moved back home but mine sure didn’t look like those pictures. I only wish… it makes me want to work on my space that I do have though.

  8. Ginny says:

    I agree, I love the last room you show! it is wonderful! When we built my sewing room this last year I had several things I insisted on, one of them was that it had to be my space, and feminine! Here is the final product of 3 1/2 months of labor! http://ginnysquilts.blogspot.com/2008/07/finished-and-moved-in.html

    If you go to some of the older posts you can see the entire building process.
    What ever you do, have fun with your room and make it exactly how YOU want it!
    Ginny

  9. tami says:

    I did a post on my sewing room last Saturday. http://bearypatch.blogspot.com/2009/01/sewing-room-saturday.html My husband made me that cabinet and ironing board when we lived in our last house. When that house was on the market people would put in their offer that they wanted that cabinet. As you can see that DID NOT happen. It took me too long to design and get him to make.

  10. Julia says:

    Hi Melissa,

    Just being browsing your blog – so, you’ve got a thing about hearts eh? You’ve made some nice things, but I really love your Buggy Barn Heart Crazies quilt – love the colours, the checks, plaids etc. Be good to see it finished!
    And know what you mean about the ‘gotta have’ problem, cause I’ve just ‘gotta have’ that Yesterday’s Charm book now that I’ve seen it!!

    All the best Julia :0)

  11. Oh my! I am so inspired by all these wonderfully, colorful and CLEAN sewing rooms….makes me want to rip everything apart and start a do-over of mine. Thanks for posting these and all the girls that left comments with pics too! You blog is wonderful, I love it!
    Linda
    http://www.lmpoole.blogspot.com

  12. Patti says:

    I wish I could make mine cute – but there isn’t a square inch left where I could put cuteness. So I’ve had to settle for organized and functional. I just tell myself all my fabric showing through the glass doors is decoration enough. If I could just figure out where to put all the rulers it would leave me a little bit of wall space where cuteness could go!

    I’m pretty sure you’ve seen many pictures of my room – but if you haven’t and you’re interested just go to my blog and click on the label “sewing rooms”.

Comments are closed.