MLK day

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.’

– Martin Luther King Jr.

 All day today I have been wondering what Dr. King would think of today. Have some of his dreams come true? We probably have a long way to go.  As a white mom raising 2 beautiful African American girls we get alot of stares, comments and some straight forward questions as we go about our business.  To tell the truth, I don’t even notice much anymore when people are rudely starting at us. I always just tell the girls, we love each other and we are a family and that’s all the matters.  Remember to keep an open mind about all shapes, sizes, and colors of people as you go about your day =)

I finished the Prarie Flowers quilt top today!

pflower

Oh how I love making quilt tops. The rest? I don’t like that part! hehehe

Later Gators!

melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

8 comments on “MLK day

  1. jackie says:

    Beautiful quilt top – we all don’t like something at some point about the crafts we do. – for me and knitting those last little finishing touches.

  2. rachel says:

    oh the top is perfect!!!
    😀

  3. Stefanie says:

    Love the quilt top! I also love making tops, but I HATE to baste! I do my own quilting because I want to make the entire quilt and I can’t afford to pay a long-armer. But I am getting a better at it!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  4. valerie says:

    The quilt it beautiful. I love how you are raising your children not to judge. You cannot put a price on that.

  5. Sharon says:

    I think it’s wonderful how you are raising your little girls.
    Love the quilt!!

  6. Priscilla says:

    Great advise for your girls! Cute quilt top – I have to admit that I am the same – love the top making, dread the rest!

  7. Awesome top— Wish I could make them as fast as you… got plans for this one? I’ve been hunting window frames…

  8. Melissa, that top is just awesome! I am so loving it…way to go !
    As a little girl who grew up with a white grandma that didn’t know any better I think it is important to tell your children how beautiful they are. And to acknowledge that they are NOT white, but they are beautiful. I can’t tell you how many times I painted myself with milk of magnesia and talc, hoping that I would become “white”. I don’t remember ever being told that brown skin was beautiful. My grandma used to pinch my nose and say that it was important to do this so my nose would not “spread”. It’s hard to understand these things as a child. I wonder what my grandma would say now. I wish she had lived to see those beautiful girls move into the White House. What a sight…I’m so proud of my country, we’ve come a long way! =)

Comments are closed.