Re-do started!

1vintageval

 

Okay I started my sewing room re-do! I spent all yesterday moving the room around to try and fit a “comfy” chair in the room to do my hand sewing in.  It was a tight fit but I did it!

This is my comfy rocker, given to me by Mom years ago, that sits on my front porch during the summer.  I am stealing it for my sewing room, because it was just sitting in the basement waiting for summer. Plus the neighborhood kids have beaten it up, poor thing. I plan to recover the cushions and pillows and ditch the sad quilt that is hanging on it.

vcxzmnn-001

I am also doing:

1. a skirt for my cutting table.

2.making a new ironing board cover.

3. hitting my mom’s basement for some old decorations I have stored there.

4. some things that may involve paint.

5.organizing the stash.

6. something that uses my little stash of 30’s fat quarters:

vcxzmnn-003

7. Scouring the resale shops for some sort of hanging light fixture.

 

Okay so that should keep me busy.  I am sure it will take awhile to evolve. But I promise to share pic’s when I am done!

Later Gators!

melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

6 comments on “Re-do started!

  1. Shelly says:

    THAT quilt is not sad. I could show you some sad quilts! This one at least still has fabric and seams over most of it! But love the idea of having a comfy chair. But I don’t do enough hand sewing to sit in it in my sewing room. What I do sew by hand is done in the living room. So the chair would be nothing but a catch all. Like the idea of a skirt around the table–but it would be a disaster with my 5 cats that think things that hang off tables are their play toys! Plus my table is folded down in the middle when I don’t need the full length up. Can’t wait to see the rest of the before pics and then the after pics of the room.

  2. rachel says:

    oh but i LOVE that sad quilt…as you call it.
    😀

    i am SUPER excited to see your room come to life!!!

  3. Jodi says:

    Thanks for visiting my Blog ! So glad to have found yours. I will be back. ooxx`jodi

  4. Nanette says:

    This is going to be really cute. I have a wicker chair in my sewing room too. It is nice to sproose things up now and then.

  5. Good for you! I found my bathroom fixture on ebay…no kidding, for EIGHT dollar, LOL! I love it. Chrome and milk glass… I would recommend that you hit ebay before you go getting all dusty at the secondhand store! =)

  6. Sara says:

    Love the chair…my mom had one like that- I wonder if she still does. Those fabrics are great and can’t wait to see the finished look. And I like the chair just the way it is! I wouldn’t change a thing on it!

Comments are closed.