Upstairs/Downstairs: One girl’s split decorating personality…

 

sero

 

 I love primitive decor. I love dusty, rusty old antiques. I love homespun, and brown quilts. 

But guess what?? I also love vintage, retro, Kitsch, and 30’s quilts too!!!  So while I reserve the downstairs of our house for all things Prim…I am going fun, bright, and retro in my new sewing room upstairs!!  I am having so much fun!! Why didn’t I think of this months ago??

Here are some antique blocks I found while out shopping around for the make-over:

 

jfghlk-012

 

I made this little scottie dog from this tutorial http://allsorts.typepad.com/allsorts/2006/05/softie_scotty_d.html

I think he is going to be right at home in the new room!

jfghlk-013

 

I made this sign to brighten the wall above my sewing table:

jfghlk-015

 

I made a pretty, frilly little skirt to go around my cutting table and hide all the scrap bins underneath out of this 30’s print:

jfghlk-024

 

Next I am going to make a little something out of this:

recipeforfriendship-bundle-450

 

Have  great rest of the weekend!!

melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

9 comments on “Upstairs/Downstairs: One girl’s split decorating personality…

  1. Melody says:

    Busy woman! I’m stealing the sew sign idea…um, I mean, borrowing. Looking forward to the unveiling.

  2. rachel says:

    awww.
    SO cute!!!

    i can’t wait to see a pic.

  3. Linda Clarke says:

    Wow I love your scotty. I have a westie. Nine mths old.In fact he’s laying right beside me, he is never out of my sight. Good thing because he is a chewer. Anyone else out there had that problem. Well I can’t wait to see the finished project. Think I could borrow the tutorial on the scottie ?

  4. Tacha says:

    I love the sew sign – I definitely need one of those. And those blocks! I love those too! Can’t wait to see it all together.

  5. Shelly says:

    Love Love Love the ideas, the SEW sign–gotta have one of those–want to make one for all of us that are begging for it? LOL The brighter and the more color the better as far as I’m concerned–and YOU my dear, are right on track! After seeing your skirting for the cutting table, I might have to rethink that idea and do that too! I sure do hate to see all the bins under there. Just hate having to move it everytime I want to get to the bins–plus I’m afraid I’ll forget them under there!
    Can’t wait to see the pics of the final redo effort. Then you can come help me redo mine–AGAIN! I can’t seem to get it how I want it!
    ~Shelly~

  6. Kim says:

    Lovin’ it! Can’t wait to see the finished room! Everything is so adorable.

  7. Nanette says:

    Loving the scotty dog and the sew sign. So so cute!

  8. Melissa says:

    from one quilting melissa to another… love the melissa blocks and sign. 🙂

    i haven’t been sewing in awhile. i need to get in my sewing room and you might have just inspired me! lol

    melissa

  9. Kate Craig says:

    I just love to read about other people’s do overs. I am one of those people who is constantly doing over and if I am not, I am thinking about it. Your do over looks absolutely wonderful. Makes me want to go out to my shop right now and start moving things around and paint and rearrange. Just found your blog, but will be back to see the progress. Good luck!!

Comments are closed.