Hi-di Ho!

beheart

I had a very nice day shopping and lunching with my Mom yesterday. I sure do miss her when we part.  I wish we lived right next door to each other. There is nothing quite as nice in the whole world as your mommy is there? Well …and your daddy too!!

I found some very nice pretties for my new nest upstairs.  They are something I feel I MUST start collecting.  It’s so pretty and glittery and sparkly!! LOL Mom kept giggling because she just couldn’t quite see the beauty in them that I did.  It’s Florida souvenir shell art from the 50’s.

gcccv-012

 

 Does anyone know if there is a name for it? The proprietor of the antique shop said they were just souvenirs that made their way up north.  I tired to find info about what company makes/made them, but couldn’t really find anything. Does anyone have info?

Some of you were interested in making a “Sew” sign for yourselves! Do it!!!  I just painted a frame that my dad has made a ton of for me.  You could build yourself a frame, use an old window, or picture frame.

I picked a font I liked in word…and typed them REALLY LARGE and traced them right off my computer screen:

 jfghlk-0041

 

Traced the letters on steam a seam

ironed them onto fabric

cut them out

used a decorative stitch on my machine to sew them to the backgrounds

got out my trusty staple gun and stapled them to the frame in the back!

later gators! melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “Hi-di Ho!

  1. Shelly says:

    Oh sure, make is sound just sew easy!!! Like we’re crafty or something? Puh leeze! We sew, not paint, glue, iron, nail, etc.!! LOL Yeah and you really believe that, right???? NOT! I really thought you had done a lot more than that to get them. Now all I have to do is find the “right” fabrics/frames to do it with! That is what will take the time!
    Thanks for the “tutorial”.
    ~Shelly~

  2. Stefanie says:

    Hello Friend!

    I’m glad that you had a good time with your mom! My mom lives out of state also and it is always awesome when we get together, hang-out, & shop! Sorry I can’t help you with the shell souvenirs. They are cute though.

    Thanks for sharing your tips for the sign! I am going to make one for my new “sewing” room!

    Have a good day!

  3. Patti says:

    What wonderful things you are doing! I love the things you have found. And I’m determined to do something pretty to my room – you’ve inspired me. I can certainly buy a couple curtain rods and sew a ruffle for my window and curtain to go over the opening into the closet (tossed the door long ago – there isn’t room to spare for a door to open LOL!). At least I still love the shades of lime green I painted the walls – though very little of it shows any more between the bookcases of fabric and the design wall. OK Melissa – you have really got me thinking now!

  4. Melody says:

    Looks like you won a give-a-way on My Yellow Farmhouse! Didn’t you? Congrats.

Comments are closed.