Yo-Yo Love

ocean_surfaceI have been out drifting a sea. But I think I am home now. My head has been in the clouds these past weeks. I guess it’s good to let your selfishness take control sometimes, but we are all learning the lesson that it can hurt everyone around you if you make decisions to live your life for yourself instead of the people around you that you love.  One must not wallow in it, right? One must dig in, put a brave face on and get back to livin’ it.

 

I have never found a better way to ground myself  and find peace than to start a new project!! I think in my past life I was a Buddhist Yo-Yo maker LOL!!!  Have you made these? very , very relaxing.

Guess what I am doing with these? (well after I make like 100 more !)

 

adhfoawi-034

 

 

This Easter quilt:

 

adhfoawi-029

 I have admired it from afar for awhile now, and it’s the perfect season for it.  So today I just plan to work on my Yo-Yo’s and meditate. oooooummmmm.

I am thinking tomorrow will be a great day to start getting out the Easter/Spring decor. How awesome that spring is almost here!  I can’t wait to sink my feet in the grass and feel the sun on my face.

Sunday evening the BG, Patience, Minate, and I had a dance fest.  We cranked up the music in our living room and danced SERIOUSLY for like an hour.  It was the most exercise I have had in FOREVAH!!

adhfoawi-028

Water break!!

adhfoawi-025

 

Saturday the girls, Sony,  and Chris took a stroll in the arboretum that is right across from our house, where Grandma Kathy (the BG’s mom) ran into them and brought the girls a valentines balloon and candy. How sweet!

adhfoawi-013

 

I’ve really been wanting to take a photography course.  This weekend the BG and I were looking up what was available at our local community college.  The Intro course sounds INSANE.  The professor that had written the description was way over the top about the responsibilities of the students in the class.   We both were cracking up and asking, “Isn’t there an Intro to the Intro??”  We did find a no-credit class that sounds like it would be a better beginning for  me, and I will start the class in May.  So be on the look-out for better photo’s coming from my lens!!  My dad has a camera that he never uses that takes beautiful pictures (pre-digital) that he is going to lend me until I learn about what I want in a camera.

Well haven’t I just rambled on?? Hope you all have a fabuloso day!

Later Gators!

melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

11 comments on “Yo-Yo Love

  1. Tammy says:

    what a totally cute and fun easter quilt. can’t wait to see it as it progresses. it’s a sunny day here – just right for doing some meditating and whatever else strikes our fancy.

  2. valerie says:

    Oh my, I love that quilt! Yes, I agree sometimes we just have to have some “me time”. I think it does us good sometimes.

  3. Shelly says:

    Melissa, I should be so grounded–unfortunately at the moment, school is the only focus. And after this past weekend and what I came home to? Well school paper work is the last place I want to be grounded with. I’d rather go back to my selfishness of home. The girls really look like they had a great time.
    Did you ever get that sewing room finished and put pictures up? Or did I just miss them?
    ~Shelly~

  4. Great kid pics—-Love the yo yos.

  5. Stefanie says:

    Glad to see that you are back on track! Yo-yos are so addictive ! I love how “mindless” they are to make. I have also been eyeing that pattern. Can’t wait to see how your turns out.

    Love your dance party. You guys have got some moves!

  6. Sharon says:

    Cute Easter yo yo quilt. So can we get our Easter goodies out now?? WOOHOO Moving right along.
    The girls are toooo cute!!

  7. Oh Melissa, I am lovin’ that Easter quilt…what book is that??? Not That I have ever made a yoyo in my life but I think it’s such a gorgeous quilt… who knows? Might be the inspiration I need!
    I can’t wait to read all about your photography class. I wish I knew how to take better pics. I have a “nice” camera (GP chose it, I know nothing of electronics but GP is quite the tech-y) so I know the problem is not in the equipment, it’s the user! =(
    Maybe you can share some tips and tricks from class. Oh, I can’t wait! You go girl!

  8. Colleen says:

    Oh I LOVE that quilt! Your girls are so sweet :o)

  9. Colleen says:

    Oops! Can you tell me who that quilt is by? I am interested in doing that one!

  10. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    LOVE that Easter quilt. Can you tell me what magazine/book it is from. I love, love, love yo-yos … they ARE addictive and make great handwork to take with you. Just found your blog and have bookmarked it … plan to be a frequent visitor! Linda

  11. Angi says:

    I just found your blog, and added you to my blog reader!
    Can you please post and tell us what book/magazine that Easter yoyo quilt is from!? It is just darling and I’d like to look closer at it and consider making one myself. Looking forward to reading your blog more now that you’re in my reader! Have a great rest of the week!

Comments are closed.