Noooo…more…snow!!

 

kkkkkk-018

 

Guess who is sick of the snow now? Meeeeeeeee!!!!  I am getting out my bunnies and spring stuff in an attempt to scare off old man winter. I will let you know how that turns out. =) This poor bunny had his ear broken when I unpacked him.  Poor fella, good thing he has two ears, one still works.

I have been plugging away on the Easter yo-yo quilt. The background is pieced, the bunnies are basted and I only have about 40 more small yo-yo’s to make.

kkkkkk-021

 I might be going a little stir crazy with the yo-yo’s cause I was thinking of all kinds of crazy uses for them. What do you think of my new bathing suit?

kkkkkk-025

I sat down to take a break and decided I needed to make a little Easter quilt to hang up in the living room.  I wanted something really simple that I could make up quick and work on between all the hand applique I will be doing on the yo-yo quilt. So I fired up EQ5 and designed a really easy Egg Block.

I am going to do mine in homespuns:

2009-02-22_1505

 

But you could make one in pastels too:

2009-02-22_1510

 

The block is 12″ long x 10″ wide. 

 Cut a colored piece of fabric 12 1/2 x 10 1/2. 

 Using a background color cut two rectangles  at 4 1/2 x 3 7/8.

Draw a diagonal line from one corner to the other on the back side.  Sew these to the top corners of the colored fabric. Trim off the access fabric (leaving a 1/4 inch) and press.

Using a background color cut two rectangles at 2 1/2 x 2.

Draw a diagonal line from one corner to the other on the back side. Sew these to the bottom corners of the colored fabric. Trim off access fabric (leaving a 1/4 inch) and press.

Viola!! you have  an Easter Egg!!  You could embellish with buttons or ric rac or anything that tickles your fancy!

On a totally unrelated note. If you ever get the chance you should read or listen to this book:

41cl52bxafzl__bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_

The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson.  Heart wrenching, beautiful, inspiring.

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

3 comments on “Noooo…more…snow!!

  1. Mel says:

    OH I love your egg wall hanging!! I will HAVE to make one or two!

    Thanks for sharing it with us, you are so creative!!

  2. Chris says:

    I love the egg quilt. And I can’t wait to see the yo-yo and bunny quilt too. Are going to shape the yo-yo’s to look like eggs? I know they’re shaping the yo-yo’s into lots of different shapes now, something my grandmother never thought of!!!

  3. Nanette says:

    Oh My GOSH! Have you been in my sewing room? The easter egg thing is exactly what I’ve been working on. Weird. Love the placement of the yo yos!

Comments are closed.