Rag Egg Tutorial

I feel a tad silly making a tutorial for these because they are so easy. But I would feel worse if I didn’t because I said I would! =)

So here ya go!

tut-004

Supplies:
Homespun or cotton fabric
Glue gun
Egg shape (can be plastic, paper mache, styrofoam, etc)
Scissors
Tea or coffee to distress.

I like to rip my fabric because I like the unfinished “raggy” look you get.

Make a small cut about ½ inch in on the edge of your fabric and tear the strip off. If you have a very long piece then you probably only need one if you have shorter pieces of fabric you can cut as many as you need to cover the egg shape.

tut-005

tut-008

Start at the “fat end” of the egg. Apply a tiny bit of hot glue to the egg shape and press one end of the fabric into the glue.

tut-010

Start wrapping the fabric all the way around the egg in the middle.

tut-011

When you get back the starting part (the fat part of the egg) you will then start to wrap by making x’s.

tut-0161

Finish wrapping the entire egg adding glue whenever you run out of fabric.

tut-018

When the entire egg is covered , cut any extra fabric you have left off and glue down at the starting point.

tut-020

If your fabric isn’t laying nicely you can add a bit of glue and press down edges.

Stain your egg, and let dry. You can use a strong pot of coffee or tea in a spray bottle, or I like to use Distress It.

tut-023

Display in a bit of “grass” and enjoy!

tut-024

7 comments on “Rag Egg Tutorial

  1. valerie says:

    Oh how fun! I am just now getting to catch up on blogs. I am going to make some this week. (I hope). Thank you so much for doing this for us. When I do mine I will post on my blog if they look ok. I am so exited.

  2. Linda says:

    Great tutorial. I have just made cotton eggs, I think I will give this a try. Linda

  3. I’m sending my blogger readers your way. I LOVE how easy you made this seem. I have made these, but mine were not quite as nice as yours…now I know why. DUH! You are so clever! I just needed to learn from the pro!

  4. wendy k says:

    Love the raggy egg teach! Going to try this weekend. where do you get your ‘Distress it’? Can you get it online? Thanks ‘eeggain’ (hehehehe) W x

  5. Cindy says:

    Hi Melissa,
    Love the raggy eggs! Thanks for sharing how you made them. They are so prim cute…think I need to make some. I’ve never heard of “Distress it”…where can it be purchased from?
    Hope you are having a great week.
    Cindy

  6. Screen door says:

    Thanks for the workshop— I’m going to give it a try this weekend… I’m so not inventive… what seems see to you seems so clever to me. Thanks.

  7. Deb Riddell says:

    Too cute! They may be easy but I would never have thought of doing that so thanks so much for the tutorial! Deb

Comments are closed.