I am a garbage picker =)

 

The BG hasn’t had a dresser for over a year now.  His got left at our old house in the move. Which is actually pretty poopy since it was a very cool antique. Bummer… 

We are usually good for saying at least once a weekend, “Let’s go get a dresser so we can put your clothes away!”  But we never do, and the one time I thought to look at a resale shop for one they wanted “NEW” prices for “OLD” ugly pieces.

Well guess what I found in the garbage when I took the trash out yesterday!!  Hey free is great even if it is ugly.  AND we don’t have to borrow a vehicle to get it to our house, we just had to carry it as few steps inside YIPPPEEE.  It’s kinda retro looking and just needs some paint, and new hardware and it will be good as new.

 

ssjjkld 011

 

I am working on a Miss Jump quilt out of the book Miss Jump’s Final Farewell.

Here are my little garden girls so far

ssjjkld 002

 

The Brooding Genius is going to have to start his own blog I tell ya!  Look what he finished for me a night or two ago, a new punchneedle block!!  I just attached it to an old candle crock:

ssjjkld 007

 

And in preparation for our camping/hiking trip this weekend ( YES IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN  LOL, WE HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR THE CAMP SITE) he started making the girls their very own walking sticks!

ssjjkld 009

 

I also got the Joined at the Hip quilt  quilted and bound.  It’s hanging up!

ssjjkld 003

 

I would like to point out  the smoke alarm sitting on the buffet there.  It seems to be sitting there more often than not because all the smoke alarms in the house must be connected to THAT ONE.

He must be the BOSS smoke alarm.

He is EXTREMELY LOUD, too!

I am constantly making the alarms go off in the house either with my amazing cooking skills or some crafty tool or another setting them off. And when any of them go off ALL of them go off until we unplug Mr. Boss smoke alarm.  I had an iron “incident” the other night and you would have thought the house was burning down.

Better go plug Mr. Boss alarm back in!

Later Gators, Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

5 comments on “I am a garbage picker =)

  1. The Cousin says:

    Ok, so I have to say, I’m sitting here cracking up at the dresser. It’s identical to the one we used to have growing up. You may remember, it was in the bathroom on Swan Road. Too funny! But you can’t beat the price! I’m sure you will doctor it up and make it look brand spanking new!! ily

  2. Brenda says:

    You are just freakin’ AMAZING! I can’t believe you already finished that quilt. I feel like such an underachiever. UGH! I’m depressed. I’ve done nothing! Go figure!

  3. Hi Melissa!

    I just came across your blog and love it!

    I also quilt, junk pick and am the owner of Room by Room Primitive Decorating. I’m in the process of doing my bedroom over. Betsy Ross brown with white trim. As soon as it is done I’ll post pics on my blog at wwwprimdianne.blogspot.com. I’m so glad I found you! I’ll be following. Blessings, Dianne

  4. libby says:

    Those kind of furniture ‘finds’ make for some of the best pieces in the house !

  5. Ruth says:

    I love your Hometown Parade quilt! I got out my June 2008 magazine and noticed that I had placed a tab on that page. I love that quilt and I love all things patriotic!

Comments are closed.