Pot Holder/Hot Pad Tutorial and other stuff.

Hi there Ho there!

Look at my cutie tootie little toy sewing machine I picked up for my sewing room. It was super clearanced at Hobby Lobby for 8 buckaroos! I couldn’t pass it up.

ppooiiu 005

We’ve got a busy couple of days ahead of us. This morning I was supposed to go on my daughter’s field trip to Moo Ville (a dairy farm.)  She INSISTED that I go. Soooo….I got the day off of work,  got girls all ready and then I got myself ready (make up and EVERYTHING lol) , packed our lunches,  then headed to the school. When I got there Patiences’ teacher said that there wasn’t going to be room for me!! It didn’t break my heart let me say =)~

Tonight we have Parent Night for the girls Karate class. They will get their yellow belts and have a banquet.

Friday I work, then when I get home I have to take the girls to  Spring Frolic at the school. Saturday I teach my apron class and Saturday night is our Wine Tasting Party!!

Busy Busy Busy!

I made up a quick pot holder/hot pad to hand out as an extra at my apron class and thought I would share it with you girlies!

This way it’s a hot pad:

ppooiiu 001

And this way it’s a pot holder:

ppooiiu 002

Easy Shmeasy Pot Holders

Supplies:

Insul-Bright batting (you want this type because it’s heat resistant)

Fat ¼ main fabric

1/8 yard binding

Grommets and grommet tool

 

Cutting:

From Insul-Bright cut  -one 10” square

–  two 4  x 10” rectangles

From main fabric cut   -two 10” squares

-two  8 x 10 rectangles

From binding fabric cut  – two 2 ¼ inch strips

 

Directions:

Sandwich the 10” square of Insul-Bright batting between the two 10” squares of main fabric.  (You may baste however you like, for the sample safety pins were used)  Quilt as desired.

Press the two 8 x 10 rectangles of main fabric in half length wise.  Place the 4 x 10’ of Insul-Bright  between the fold and quilt as desired.

Place the two 4 x 10” rectangles at the top and bottom of the

10” quilted square, matching up the raw edges. Pin in place.

Sew around all four sides using ¼ seam allowance.

Place grommet in the upper right hand corner.

Bind the potholder as you would a quilt and enjoy!

Untitled

Later Gators!

Melissa

5 comments on “Pot Holder/Hot Pad Tutorial and other stuff.

  1. Stefanie says:

    Melissa, you are one BUSY girl!

    Thanks for sharing the tutorial with us!

  2. Sewmarm says:

    Great idea and congrats on the adorable machine!

  3. […] made her a little pot holder from my tutorial as a hostess gift.  The second time around turned out much […]

  4. Corrie says:

    Thanks for the tutorial! Cute. Love the sewing machine too.

  5. sewinglady says:

    Thanks for the tutorial!

Comments are closed.