Happy Birthday BG! and some decorating too.

bloggityb  Today is The BG’s birthday!  I woke him up with his favorite doughnut: custard filled long john.

 

We went to dinner last night and saw the Star Trek movie for his b-day because tonight is his brother’s wedding rehersal and dinner.

I hope you have a wonderful 37th year baby cakes!!!

__________________________________________________________

I did a little shopping yesterday and found some more 50’s shell art. I am starting to fill up my shell art shelf (that my dad made)  in the sewing room!! I check all the antique stores around my area every couple weeks to see if anyone has any shell art pieces. Pictures can’t do these gem’s justice because the are so glittery and sparkley in person.

bloggityb 012

(please ignore the STILL un-quilted quilt hanging there!!)

Here are the new ones:

This is my very favorite piece. It is gorgeous!!!!!

bloggityb 013

bloggityb 014

 

_______________________________________________________

I thought I would share some more of my patriotic do-dads I have about.  I picked up these flag towels from the dollar store  to add a bit of July 4th to the towel rack:

bloggityb 023

 

Here is how my “liberty” sign looks hanging up (I think I got a little crazy and made it way too big! It was my first attempt at making a banner.)

bloggityb 017

 

My favorite Uncle Sam that the BG gifted to me quite a few birthdays ago:

bloggityb 018

 

Here’s a quick festive tip: Throw some patriotic balls in a bowl, you could make rag balls out of red, white, and blue scrap fabric!

bloggityb 019

 

There are many free patriotic post cards out there  that you can print and frame if you need a space filler!

bloggityb 025

 

I was so excited to pull out this little quilt from the book “My Folk Art Best,” by Cheri Saffiote-Payne. I finished it too late last year to hang up for July 4th season.

bloggityb 026

 

Here is the “Service Star” quilt I have on the coffee table. It is a free pattern and here are a couple links:

http://www.mccallsquilting.com/patterns/details.html?idx=4735

http://www.quilterscache.com/H/howtomakeanarmedservicesflag.html

bloggityb 020

 Another scrappy July 4th quilt:

bloggityb 024

Another Uncle Sam:

bloggityb 022

Lator Gators! Melissa

5 comments on “Happy Birthday BG! and some decorating too.

  1. Cindy says:

    Love all your patriotic goodies!!

  2. Libby says:

    Happy Birthday to your fella.

    I’m a little sad that I’m not decorating for the ‘Patriotic Season’ this year. We are deep into staging everything for potential buyers . . . . but just wait until next year *s*

  3. valerie says:

    Happy Birthday to your BG! I love seeing all of your goodies. I have got to catch up reading blogs. Life has kept me busy.

  4. Brenda says:

    Happy Birthday to the BG; OH, to be in the thirties again would be wonderful…even if it is the “late” ones, LOL!
    Love the Americana theme you have going.

  5. Sara says:

    Happy Birthday to your guy! Hope he had a great day!

    I love all your decorations and antiques! You are amazing at it…I could never have a house that looks like that – not with 4 boys/men.

Comments are closed.