Of Weddings and Gardens.

daves wedding 004

Our family enjoyed the wedding of The BG’s youngest brother this Saturday. It was filled with touching moments for me because David was still  a youngster when The BG and I met. The bride (Jennifer) was beautiful and so was the wedding.  I must say I had forgotten how handsome the BG looks in a Tux!! (whistle)

The reception was held outdoors at the brides’ parents’ home and let me tell you it was HOOOOOT. I felt like I was melting all day…..and the cake actually was!!!!  They had to cut the cake as soon as dinner was over because it was falling over from the heat!

daves wedding 017

 

The thriller dance went well! When I get my hands on the video I will post it.  We were amoung the last to leave that evening and our girls were the last ones on the dance floor!

 

daves wedding 043

________________________________________________________________

tour sign

 

Then it was early to rise for me Sunday to go on the Battle Creek Garden Tour with my Mom and my Aunt Donna. Mom and I have gone every year for the past 6 years.  It is so fun to walk through peoples gardens and enjoy their hard work.

Here is the first home which was MASSIVE:

garden tour 09 001

 

Their garden was modeled after European gardens that they enjoy visiting. They had alot of “water features” that were planted instead of having running water.

garden tour 09 005

 

garden tour 09 004

I thought this was a cute idea! She had these angels climing up the tree in her back yard.

garden tour 09 003

 

This was my favorite garden. This woman and her husband had THE CUTEST stuff. They had about 10 different garden themes packed into a little yard. They had a “zen garden” and “whimsical garden” and sooo much more.

One of my favorite parts of the garden tour is to spot all the little “nick-nack” things people tuck into their gardens, and let me tell you, this lady had of TON of little treasures tucked all around: garden tools, old chairs, mirrors, stones, bricks, driftwood, bunnies…OHHH it was so fun!!

garden tour 09 010

 

She had two of these bunnie topiaries planted. She her whiskers? hehehe

garden tour 09 011

 

garden tour 09 034

 

She was going to throw this table out because the legs had started to rot and it was tippy…instead they painted it and planted all four legs in little planter boxes!!

garden tour 09 025

 

Look at this guys “head of hair”

garden tour 09 017

 

These bricks say, “Grandma’s favorite flowers” and with all the grandchildrens names carved into the bricks:

garden tour 09 030

 

One of the interesting things about this next familys’ garden is that they use pine needles as mulch. She had it all in her beds and walkways. It smelled soo good and was so soft to walk on. And the best part she said was that it’s freeeeeee!

garden tour 09 036

 

garden tour 09 037

garden stuff

I took a ton more pictures, but I think I might blow up your computer if I post them all =)

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend as well!

Later Gators!! Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

6 comments on “Of Weddings and Gardens.

  1. Whitey says:

    Boy do I feel lacking in the green thumb department, oh well it is still nice to see others yards, gets me hopeful that just maybe one day……….

  2. Tammy says:

    wow those gardens are really impressive, i lack the vision to do stuff like that. the picture of you and bg is great – you two are a cute couple. can’t wait to see the thriller video of your dance!!

  3. Libby says:

    What fun to get a peek into the gardens . . . . lots of colorful ideas out there – just for the takin’ *s*

  4. Sara says:

    Beautiful pictures! I love the one of you and BG! And the garden tour looks wonderful!!

  5. misschell says:

    looks like a GREAT weekend! Oh that cake!! glad they got to it before it fell! love the pic of you & BG- you really haven’t changed since HS!! 🙂
    ~misschell

  6. Brenda says:

    I don’t know how I misse this post earlier, duh! I can’t even imagine the dedication it must take to keep a garden in such splendor. Can you imagine? It takes just a few wilted plants of insect infested specimens to drive me indoors feeling defeated… If I had a bed like those and they started to wilt I would want a John Deer truck and a realtor, LOL!
    OH, and you guys are such party animals… I’m so jealous…hee-hee

Comments are closed.