Is your corn knee high?

ETEXBILL6982

It’s almost the 4th of July!! Do you have big plans?

Growing up on a little farm, mom and dad always used to say it, and I always think of the saying this time of year that the corn should be  ” knee high by the fourth of July.”

 Fourths were always special when I was a kid. Oh the sweet corn I ate!!!  and the green beans, and the CUCUMBERS (my fav), and the ochre, and the watermelon my Grandpa Sutterfield always brought and his homemade ice cream. Swimming in Aunt Judy’s pool with my cousins. Going to Uncle Ron’s. Peein’ on the sidewalk with my cousin Amy (sorry inside “cousin”  joke) bonfires, sparklers, family.  Ahhh just to have one more 4th as a kid.  Good thing we can keep the memories since the times go by too fast.

Later Gators! melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

2 comments on “Is your corn knee high?

  1. Brenda says:

    Oh, I had big plans for a cookout and it was rained out…no cookouts in NH, just rain, rain, rain….woe is me! Hope yours is filled with family fun, as it should be! B=)

  2. simplylibby says:

    Isn’t it funny how we always think Christmas is the best . . . . until you start thinking about all those fun things for the 4th – and all without presents *s*

Comments are closed.