Homemade Bean Bags

fhfhfhf 001

Through the haze of my blasted cold, I managed to cut, and paste, and glue,  and glitter all those tiny pieces yesterday to complete the Carnival Invitations!

fhfhfhf 004

There really is something so satisfying about cutting up bits and putting them back together to create something pretty. I have loved that since I was a kid. My mom always says that as long as I had some paper and scissors I was a happy kid.  I guess that is why I took to  quilting like a duck to water! (I love those old silly sayings, but they make me sound like I am 80 years old!)

Each family is responsible for a “booth” at the carnival.  The BG and I are in charge of the bean bag game.  He will make and paint the plywood cutout with the different holes. I ‘m  in charge of making the bean bags.

I thought maybe you would like to make some bean bags too! If nothing else they are good for keeping your kids semi entertained in the back yard!

BEAN BAG TUTORIAL

Bean Bag Tut

1. Get some sturdy canvas.

2. Cut canvas  into 5 inch squares using either pinking shears or a pinking rotary cutter.

3. Sew around the four sides leaving about a 3 inch opening on one side

4. Fill with beans.

5. Sew the opening closed.

6. Make up some games and play!

______________________________________

Later Gators! Melissa

p.s. see my little thread catching do-dad you made me rachel? I use it everyday! makes me wonder why  I never had one before!

5 comments on “Homemade Bean Bags

  1. Carrie P. says:

    So sorry to hear you have a cold. I just don’t understand that either how a person gets a cold in the summer. Get well soon.
    Lots of cutting a gluing you are doing.
    I think it was a good idea to cut off the swap. You could have ended up with a house full of envelopes to go through. Yikes!

  2. Jean says:

    Hey, Melissa! My friend told me about your lovely blog and I am so glad she did. I noticed that you are from Battle Creek. That’s where I am from. Born and bred. Most of my family worked at Kelloggs. We moved to California in ’63, but still consider myself a mid-westerner. I went to school at Level Park elementary and jr. high at Northwestern. I still have family there. I’m putting you on my blog list for sure!!

  3. Mary says:

    The invites are so cute and the party sounds like it will really be fun.

  4. Sara says:

    Love the bean bags, they would be great for cornhole, which my family loves to play! And the invites are great!

  5. Michelle says:

    Your daughters are going to have such a great birthday! Your invitations and bean bags are super cute! I hope that you get your bike!

Comments are closed.