Lake of Shining Waters

189-92_anne_of_green_gables-web

I love how Anne (with and E) Shirley, from Green Gables always gave fancy names to all the beautiful places she loved.

Someday I will have to post some of our honey moon pictures of Prince Edward Island.  Yes the BG actually agreed to take me there on our honeymoon to visit all of the Anne of Green Gables haunts. What a guy! We spent almost 2 weeks on the island.

So I am borrowing an Anne-ism to describe the echanted place we visited this Saturday.

It really was the Lake of Shining Waters.

pbday 009

We went to visit Buzz and Janie in Ann Arbor.  Buzz is one of the BG’s old University of Michigan professors. Buzz was also very good friends of Patience and Minate’s father Nate.  Buzz and Janie try to get together with us and the girls at least once a year so that they can see the kids.

This amazing spot is in Ann Arbor but the BG and I had never even heard of it. They try to keep it that way I think.  You have to be a member to get in.  It is on the property of an old  farm house.  Buzz said that it was started in the 1930’s by the farm family that owned the land,  as a get-away for the Detroit auto workers.

You had to drive into the driveway of the farm house and down a little lane surrounded by corn on both sides.

There were two lakes, wooded campsites, and CORNFIELDS all around you. It was such a romantic spot. I fell in love!

shining waters

 

We enjoyed the day very very much!

pbday 015

 

Later Gators! Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

13 comments on “Lake of Shining Waters

  1. Brenda says:

    That looks like such a great spot. I just discovered a lake two years ago. I have lived in NH for FIFTEEN years and that was my first trip to a lake. Now I live for lake swimming. The water is so much warmer than the beach. Beaches in NH are FREEZING, hello? Horrid!
    You forgot to mention if the water was warm…HMMM…I just wonder if all lakes are warm or just our little lake.
    Love the pics! B=)

  2. Sue Cryderman says:

    Those were awesome photos! I LOVE the Anne of Green Gables books and DVD’s and own all of them!! What a honeymoon that must have been to go to Prince Edward Island!! I would love to do that one day, but I can’t get the hubby to take me into Canada! Anyway, that was good of your guy to take you there!
    Thanks for posting such great pics!

  3. valerie says:

    This looks like so much fun. It is great to get away. We are actually in Fla. as I type this. We are having a great time. I love your blog.

  4. Mary says:

    Wow….that looks like it was a really special outing. Everyone appears to have had a great time.

  5. Carrie P. says:

    I love Anne of Green Gables. Your swimming hole looks like a beautiful spot to hang out.

  6. boysmum2 says:

    OMG, a person after my own heart.
    I have all of the A of G movies, they are the greatest and I would love to visit Edward Island. Is it as great as the movies do it justice?
    BG sounds like a perfect person to take you there on a honeymoon.

  7. Karen says:

    I read every single Anne of Green Gables book I could get my hands onto! I always wanted to go to PEI. I have never been able to convince my husband to go. May have to do that on my own some day. Thanks for taking me on a welcome trip down memory lane.

  8. Cindy says:

    Melissa,
    Looks like you all had a wonderful time in Ann Arbor! And Happy Birthday to Patience…she is the same age as my granddaugther Josie.
    I emailed you about the question you ask about my photos.
    Cindy

  9. Gem says:

    That’s fun..visiting the places in Prince Edward that Anne loves to give imaginative names to..Hope I can visit it too in my lifetime.

  10. Cynthia says:

    Lovely blog (I’m a big Anne fan!)…oh, and you look very much like Shania Twain! Blessings to you and yours…

  11. Muirl Bronsteader says:

    In 1993 my daughters, now grown women, and I visited PEI for a week and immersed ourselves in Anne/LM Montgomery lore. Now the eighth grade students in one of our local schools are reading “Anne of Gables” and their teacher has invited me to come share what i know of the area. How exciting it is to go online and find so much information and so many pictures. The students will be fascinated to use the computer to help answer their questions.
    Thanks for the photos of the Lake of Shining Waters!

  12. ali says:

    This brings back memories!

  13. […] think I told the story somewhat here, but again Buzz was VERY close to Minate and Patience father Nate Jones, who was at one time […]

Comments are closed.