Meeting Lisa

I went to my first Cal-Co Quilt Guild meeting last night!

I have been meaning to join these ladies for a long time now but somehow never got around to it.

While at the carnival party this weekend , my brother-in-law’s Mom reminded me that I should come to a meeting and that Lisa Bongean shop owner/designer from Primitive Gatherings was going to be there this week!

quilt quild 006

Well that was all the encouraging I needed to get my bootie on over to the church where they hold the meetings last night.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE all the Primitive Gatherings books, patterns, and kits. Oh yes I do.

Lisa was very entertaining and informative.  She is a wool lover and most of the TONS of samples she brought to share were wool applique. 

Oh be still my heart all the works of quilting art were FANTASTIC! But the lighting was extremely poor so none of my photo’s came out. Bummer.

I am going to share a few anyway.

This one is a block of the month that they are running one more time, all wool applique:

quilt quild 015

 

Look at these teeny weeny wool appliques and HST!!

quilt quild 012

LOVED this one! It’s all wool applique on a plain muslin background:

quilt quild 009

Baskets, and flowers, and birds, OH MY!

quilt quild 011

 

Okay so who wants to ride the 400 miles with me to her shop in Wisconsin?? Oh…and give me $1000.00 to spend there? =)

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

13 comments on “Meeting Lisa

  1. Melody says:

    I love that shop! If I somehow inherit a million dollars we will fly there in style! 😉

  2. Jan says:

    Whow on that BOM and all those other gorgeous things!!! I’m off to find their web site next. Tks so much for sharing 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    Yum. I love her stuff. I’m working on the borders of one of the BOMs now. One day I may get it finished. I love that one with the wool squares on muslin. I may have to have that!

  4. Sue Cryderman says:

    Boy, how I love their stuff too!!! What a wonderful guild you have there. Wish I had one close to me. You should have called seeing as how I’m not really that far from you 😀
    Those quilts are just AWESOME! I LOVE wool! Thank you tons for sharing these great quilt photos with us!
    I just can’t believe you got to meet Lisa. The best I can get is her emails;)

  5. Kathy says:

    Melissa,

    I’ll go – altho its a heck of a lot more than 400 miles for me!!! Lisa is a hoot – we get together at markets and she and her hubby are a riot!!

  6. girlshomequilts says:

    That is great! I’m glad you found a group to get together with. I just ordered a wool applique kit from Pacific Patchwork that is adorable. It will be my first time working with wool so wish me luck!

  7. Julia says:

    Great quilts..must check out her website..
    Julia ♥
    Melissa, my siggies are on their way to Jane..
    Julia ♥

  8. terry cortez says:

    What fun for you. I too got to meet Lisa at Long Beach last month. Her booth was to die for. I got to see several of the BOMS I participate w/Primitive Gatherings in person. I also bought new stuff. Lisa is charming and her books/patterns and recipes are great.
    Terry in So. Calif.

  9. Mary says:

    Oh my goodness, but those are gorgeous pieces. I would love to see them in person.

  10. Carrie P. says:

    I love Primitive Gatherings. I think you need more money than that. LOL

  11. Danielle says:

    Another Primitive Gatherings junkie here! I agree with Carrie, you need at least twice that, and then some more 😉

  12. Brenda says:

    You KNOW I’m all over that, LOL! I just LOVE her stuff…and yes, I am seriously planning a trip to WI to go to her shoppe. There are worse hings I could do; Vegas anyone? LOL!

  13. Colleen says:

    Ahhh… I am that lucky soul who only lives 70 miles away, so I get there at least 4 or 5 times a year…. and OUCH it hurts!! My checkbook anyway… but everone in her store is just as fun and friendly as she is. I wish I could have one of everything in that place!

Comments are closed.