Okay it’s official….I’m Old.

Did you know that they stopped making regular T.V.’s?

Whhaaa?? When did this happen?

The BG and I had to go buy a new phone yesterday as ours was on the blink after about 5 years.

Phones just don’t last long these days.

My parents (in addition to having a modern cordless phone set) still have a phone from when I was little.

Remember these?

rotary-phoneYeah….and it wouldn’t break if you threw it against a wall, nor run out of batteries, nor sound crackly after the first week you bought it.

While we were there we decided to look for a little T.V. for the girl’s room.  They like to watch movies in their room sometimes when the BG and I are watching something that is inappropriate for them (Like the evening news or practically anything else on television these days.)

They have an old T.V. with a built in VCR  (HA remember those?)   There is no way to hook up a DVD player to it.  It’s too old (like me.)

WELL GUESS WHAT??

This is what every T.V. looks like now:

samsung_ln26a450c1_lcd_tv_f

Why would you construct something that is a heavy square on top of a teeny, tiny, insubstantial  little oval?

My girls would have that knocked over and broken in the first week.

What happened to these?

0005381832004_215X215It’s heavy, it’s a cube that won’t tip over,  it’s hard to destruct!!!

I even asked the electronics clerk, who is probably 17 years old  ” Excuse me, where are the regular t.v.’s ?”

He looked at me like I was crazy and said, ” These are the regular T.V.’s”

The BG might have been a little embarrassed, as he said, ” sorry she doesn’t get out much!” HA

I mean I knew the whole digital thing was happening, but to take away good, substantial, heavy T.V.’s  is just a travesty.

OKAY! I KNOW I AM OLD NOW!  When you start thinking “they just don’t make em like they used to!”

_______________________________________________________________

Every year in our downtown area they make scarecrows and put them up all along the lamp posts. It looks so cute and fall-ish.

There must be 50 of them. I thought I would share some.

SC1

I haven’t been sewing the last few days because I have been baking.  Apple pies and zucchini bread! YUMM

Hopefully I will get some sewing done today after I take Patience to the doctor.

Later Gators!

melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

10 comments on “Okay it’s official….I’m Old.

  1. Jane says:

    Target or Walmart will have a good old TV for the girls!

  2. simplylibby says:

    I’m right there with you . . . . I’ve tried but I just can’t keep up any more *s*

  3. Sue Cryderman says:

    Yep. We remember the ‘good old days’ and wish they were still with us.
    But, I actually like the fact that tv’s are flatter now 🙂

  4. Mel says:

    Where do we post OUR requests for your dad?

    Can’t wait to see the custom replica!

  5. lisajo says:

    We have two phones in this house, but one is an old rotary wall phone, and the best part about it, when the power goes out, thats the only phone on the property that works! 🙂 Our neighbors are jealous!

  6. boysmum2 says:

    I can totally relate to this, we have an ‘old’ tv in the bedroom that is only 10yrs old but sadly old enough to not take a dvd player! I would like a new one so I can watch a dvd in bed when husband is watching something down stairs I don’t particularly want to watch but at nearly $600-700 each it will be a while before I have that luxury! I was thinking of an old one just like you, maybe even abput $300 which is more or less what I spent on the tv 10 yrs ago anyway, but no, times have changed and we seem to have missed it somewhere along the line. I also remember the phones, they were good. Solid and lasting, man where does it all go…?

  7. cornbreadandbeansquilting says:

    Hi Mel! LOL I’ll let him know you are next in line =) melissa

  8. cornbreadandbeansquilting says:

    Hi Lisa! I know…There is something to be said for old things, they don’t always improve things for the better! LOL melissa

  9. cornbreadandbeansquilting says:

    I don’t know where all the good things go! LOL I am planning to just look at thrift shops and sales to see if I can find them an older t.v. Good luck with your search too! =) melissa

  10. Elesia says:

    i feel so bad that I threw that old black rotary dial….It was a good paper weight and dust collector but, it had character…It’s seems like we have done away with some of that good ole stuff…I came across your website because I have to do a documentary on Podcasting. i just wanted to have a picture of the rotary dial…

Comments are closed.